We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Options in Oak Brook...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Certificate of Excellence
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Options in Oak Brook...”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I am required to stay at this hotel for work every time I am in Oak Brook. Therefore, my experience comes from countless visits along with my several hundred hotel stays at other Hilton properties. Primarily used as the visiting hotel for McDonald's Headquarters guests and dignitaries, this property is in dire need of a makeover. Overall, this property doesn't live up to the "Doubletree" name. The rooms are relatively small with scuffed walls and outdated fixtures. The staff is friendly and the restaurants are decent enough but the exercise room can be improved. My recommendation would be to try the Hilton Garden Inn or Hilton Suites which are right down the road until this property gets it's much needed updates.

Room Tip: Try to upgraded to the Concierge level for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlecEiffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at our hotel. For future stays, we have a variety of room types available and our dedicated staff members would be pleased to assist you in finding the perfect accommodations to fit your needs. It is our hope that our guests would reach out to us with any issues they may have so that we may address them at the time of their stay. We hope to welcome you back to experience our hotel again and renew your trust in the Hilton brand and us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    327
    175
    57
    22
See reviews for
182
138
56
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed here for a recent business trip, the location is great. Right by the mall and next to a bunch of restaurants, also right off the highway and very easy to get to. Check in was a breeze and they give you some warm cookies when you arrive. The hotel property is pretty big with a few onsite bars, restaurants, and a nice pool as well as fitness center. The rooms are little outdated but they are immaculately clean . They provide plent of soap, nice towels, and bottled water in the room. The bed is comfortable and the hotel is quiet so you are able to get a good night's rest. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RWADLOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
What a great review. Thank you for pointing out our convenient location, and in particular, we're thrilled to learn that you had a restful night's sleep while staying at the DoubleTree Chicago Oak Brook. You've made our day by sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another exceptional stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We flew in from Florida due to a family emergency, It was very late and Denise at the front desk went all out to get me a room when there really wasnt one. I will be forever gratfull for her empathy. The room was clean and well maintained. the breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: try to get on first floor.elevators get busy in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j33bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
While arriving for a family emergency can be very stressful, we're very happy to hear that our staff alleviated some of that stress and helped you in your time of need. Your kind acknowledgement of their efforts is truly appreciated and we will be sure to share your comments with them. We're certainly glad that your accommodations met your needs and we hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Doubletree in Oak Brook for a business meeting the week of September 9th. It is always nice to get those delicious Doubletree cookies when you check into your room. My room was on the 6th floor and offered a long range view of the skyline of Chicago which was nice. The breakfast buffet every morning was excellent. The meeting rooms we used were also very nice and their snacks severed to the participants were also very good including some ice cream treats. The room itself was clean and comfortable and the entire staff seemed to be accommodating and friendly. The hotel is within walking distance of the huge Oak Brook mall where you can literally find anything your heart might desire. A central location on 20 minutes from O’Hare.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors and on the back side offer a long range view of the Chicago skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCDawgFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
It's wonderful that you were able to enjoy so many of the highlights of the DoubleTree Chicago Oak Brook, in particular our Signature Chocolate Chip Cookies! We strive to provide the most comfortable and accommodating experience available to our guests, whether it be for a family getaway or a business conference. You have certainly made our day by sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binbrook
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here as part of a 3 night Chicago bus tour operated by Maxima Tours. The tour price included breakfasts each day.
We found the room clean and comfortable and the beds were comfy. The breakfasts were well organized and had plenty of choices. Coffee and orange juice was provided by the servers who also did an efficient job of clearing away the used dishes.
The location was across from the mall and was an easy walk although the sidewalks are only on one side of the road.
Only complaint was the Wifi, it was free in the lobby but it wanted to charge the room when I tried it on the 2nd floor. I cannot understand why Hilton charges for in room wifi when the Best Western and all of the B&Bs we stayed at can supply it for free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It makes us very happy to learn that you were able to enjoy a restful night's sleep and experienced the attentive service levels our staff strives to provide. We do provide complimentary internet access in all public areas of the hotel and to HHonors Gold & Diamond Members, and only charge those guests that choose to use the service in-room. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the DoubleTree Chicago Oak Brook for another enjoyable stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed one night recently at this DoubleTree hotel. We have not used DoubleTree often in the past so it was a new experience for us. The hotel met many of our expectations, but did not exceed them.

The staff was nowhere to be seen when we pulled up to the door at 2:00pm - apparently all at break. The check in was easy and the desk staff was nice. The cookies were warm and tasty. The room was easy to find and clean. The linens appeared to be well maintained and the pillows were comfy. The desk chair was easy on the back. The space that would have been a closet was open and low to the ground, our first clue that the room was intended to be wheelchair accessible. The window curtains were clean and completely blocked the sun.
We didn't stay in the room much during the day. At night the bed was comfy.

As for food and diversions, we didn't try the hotel's restaurant or bar so we can't vouch for them. They appeared to be staying busy and there is a convenience store inside for any items one might have left behind or munchies. The Oak Brook mall is within sight and easy walking distance so we ate there and poked around there when we weren't off at our meetings. Parking is plentiful, both under cover and out in the open. We had no difficulties there. The check out staff was professional if uninviting.

We did have a few issues that kept our stay from exceeding expectations. It was difficult getting assistance with bags on arrival and check out. The lounge smelled heavily of finger nail polish or toluene on friday night so we didn't bother coming back down after going to our room. The room was noisy in some predictable if disappointing ways. Water noise in the wall exceeded our expectations. We expect it in a run of the mill motel, but we don't expect to get awoken by it in a Hilton-run hotel. The bathroom door squeaked loudly every time it was opened and since it was a wide door it was that much more noisy. Neither of us could open or close the door without making a racket. The noise in the Hallway was surprisingly loud. Every sound came through without a scintilla of noise dampening by the door.

So, all in all it was an average stay. Service-able, except for the bathroom door at night. I would not recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Telkontar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing such a detailed and honest review regarding your stay at the DoubleTree Chicago Oak Brook. I am very happy to read that your accommodations were comfortable and you were provided with personalized service from our staff. However, it is disappointing to learn that you encountered inconveniences while here. It would have been our pleasure to attend to the squeaky door immediately and ask that you reach out to us if there are ever any problems with your stay. We do apologize that your experience was not what we expect for our guests, and hope that you will afford us another opportunity to provide the level of service you expect and deserve in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We are staying here with our 3 and 4 year old girls for 2 nights while my husband has a meeting close by. I am writing this on my second night. The receptionists were all very pleasant and accommodating, providing a small fridge for the kids and late check-out on request. The breakfast buffet was good for the hotel class. The pool and spa was also nicer than most in its class. As a Hilton Gold member, I was upgraded to the Executive Floor but the lounge was closed. Disappointing, but not a big deal. I think the hotel was larger and better than most Doubletrees I've stayed.

One problem: I made the mistake of believing the claim on their official website that "the hotel provides all guests complimentary shuttle transportation to any of our area businesses or attractions within a 5 mile radius of the hotel " and planned my stay accordingly. Because we were across from the Oak Brook Shopping Center and there was a shuttle, I did not have my husband leave the car. The first night, they were not busy at all but we still had to wait a bit for the shuttle, so we decided to walk to the shopping center. The problem was that there were no sidewalks to walk on at the hotel or on the path to the mall, making it necessary to walk on a busy street with 2 young kids. In essence, we were forced to jaywalk.

Since my husband was at the meeting the next day, I did not feel safe maneuver with the 2 kids by myself so I decided to take the shuttle. After waiting 15 minutes for the shuttle (2 shuttles were parked in front the entire time) I approached the desk again and was told they could not take us because they did not have car seats and did not want to take on the liability. Could they not have informed me rather than make me wait 15 minutes. While I was waiting, I also spoke to a couple who was waiting for a cab because the shuttle would not take them to a restaurant 3.5 miles away. So is this false advertisement of “the hotel provides all guests complimentary shuttle transportation” or is this discrimination of families with small children. Would it be difficult to obtain car seats? I recommend that they get the car seats or stop advertising shuttle service to all guests.

Room Tip: executive lounge opened M-Th
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank foodie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us about your recent stay at the DoubleTree Chicago Oak Brook. It was certainly a pleasure to welcome you and your family to our hotel. While it's great to hear that your accommodations, dining experience and our pool area met your expectations, I am disappointed that your stay was not more convenient. The wait that you encountered while anticipating transportation to the Oak Brook Center Mall is not indicative of the service we provide and I offer my sincerest apologies. Regarding the declined offer by our shuttle driver; we take the safety and comfort of our guests very seriously and hope that you can appreciate our need to have our special little guests secured properly. We will certainly take your suggestions to heart and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Brook
0.6 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
1.1 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Address: 1909 Spring Rd, Oak Brook, IL 60523-3923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oak Brook
#3 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Chicago Oak Brook is the perfect location for your leisure or business trip. Close to O'Hare and Midway Airports, just 18 miles to Chicago, walking distance to Illinois' largest outdoor shopping mall, and convenient to the Metra Train, zoo, theaters, and golf courses. Book a Chicago weekend escape with all the fun and attractions without the downtown Chicago expense. Hotel features FREE parking, local transportation and warm chocolate chip cookie with walnuts, at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Oak Brook
Oak Brook Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing