We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best Thai food”
Review of t.m. Basil

t.m. Basil
Ranked #39 of 81 Restaurants in Oak Brook
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not the best Thai food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Since "Thai" is in the name if this establishment, I ordered Pad Thai. It was not authentic by any means. The noodles were orange (?) and there were no peanuts. Mostly, it was a plate of rice noodles. It was not bad tasting, just not real Pad Thai. The service was average at best. I would not return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stmirli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very good thai restaurant in oakbrook”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

their thai food is quite good for a Chinese owned restaurant. we had basil chicken, pad woon sen with tofu, fresh spring roll. their sushi is good too. prices are very reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank etohelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food at Oakbrook Mall”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is reliable and above average. The restaurant is in a new location the past few years. While very clean and modern, it is not very warm. The service at lunch is always very prompt. I like the basil chicken (sliced meat instead of ground) and the Pad Thai. They have an excellent variety on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Place - Good Food”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is one of those places you must know where it is to get to. Kind of tucked away in an unassuming area of the Oak Brook mall.

I enjoyed the food on both ocassions and found the service to be in the okay group. Sometimes I think the staff needs training on dealing with people. As a seasoned traveler, many look at me and make assumptions until it is time to receive my payment. I use coupons through various sources and often they require cash payment versus the credit card. During my next visit, I will be using cash and will make the adjustment if I get the less than desired service from prior visits. Maybe I will get lucky and be served by the kind lady who compensated the lack of courtesy from the last server.

Okay, now the real purpose of this review... the food is quite enjoyable!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
275 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice place with Thai and Sushi”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Started with the combination plate apppetizers and the Catterpillar Maki and both were good. We then shared the Basil Chicken ( Ground Chicken ) and Oyster Beef and both were great and if you have never tried ground chicken you should!! Overall a very nice experiance and leftovers for lunch today. Visit 2/25/13 Full Moon evening!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RadfordC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed t.m. Basil also viewed

Oak Brook, DuPage County
Westmont, DuPage County
 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 

Been to t.m. Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing