We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good prix fixe lunch....”
Review of Mon Ami Gabi

Mon Ami Gabi
Reserve with OpenTable
Mon Ami Gabi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 81 Restaurants in Oak Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 22nd Street
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
732 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Very good prix fixe lunch....”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife and I stopped here on the way to Tennessee for Xmas. It was pretty crowed for lunch, but we were seated promptly. I had a Bloody Mary that was pretty good. The french bread and heavy butter cream butter was excellent. We both had the prix fixe lunch...appetizer, entree and dessert. I had the soup de jour which was a rich, thick mussel and saffron soup...almost a bisque. It was excellent. She had a salad with butter lettuce, apples, goat cheese, procuitto....she said it was very good. We both had the steak frites, which was probably flank steak, very tender, cooked rare as we asked, plus very rich tasting (duck fat maybe) frites. It was excellent. The dessert was a trio of a sorbet, a chocolate mousse and a creme brule. It was also excellent. Price was $22. Decor was very nice and authentic, service was good......very fine experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    97
    38
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Bistro in Oakbrook Area”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I went to Mon Ami Gabi for my birthday. Very nice atmoshphere. The place is bustling; it is not the place for a quiet meal (not a criticism but just know what to expect). We had the warm brie and country pate for appetizers and both were very good. Steak was excellent although it was medium rare instead of medium as ordered. Desserts were good. We would not hesitate to go back. Parking is always a problem but fortunately they have valet.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffN819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We always go early to sit at the bar and have a cocktail. The bartenders are great! It was our anniversary and we had a wonderful dinner. The prime rib is the best around as is the hamburger (try it french onion soup, style)! The escargot was large and delish. I recommend making a reservation if you want to sit in the restaurant before 8, it is always packed!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our local favorite!”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Consistently the best and most delicious food , in a very beautiful and comfortable atmosphere, great service and very reasonably priced. Recommend Appetizers ( Liver Pate, Salmon ) Entrees ( Skate Fish, Hanger Steak in Merlot Butter with Frites ) and also please order the Bananas Foster Crepes filled with Ice Cream and drizzled in a Sauce. Outstanding. Dont forget a bottle of French Wine - please not on Monday Night, all wine glasses and bottles are half price. This restaurant is our favorite in a crowded field of great restaurants in the Oakbrook area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larryglick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food, polite server, great surroundings.”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I went for a light dinner with some friends and was pleasantly surprised. The food was very reasonable and very good. The macaroni cheese was delicious! It has a very cool bistro vibe and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SacredTrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Ami Gabi also viewed

Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 

Been to Mon Ami Gabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing