We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seasons 52

Seasons 52
Reserve with OpenTable
Seasons 52 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Oak Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 16th Street & Route 83
Description: Seasons 52 is a casually sophisticated fresh grill and wine bar that invites you to discover the sensational flavors of our seasonally inspired menu. At Seasons 52, you"ll enjoy a warm, welcoming ambiance with rich mahogany accents, custom built wine cellars, and lush greenery that create an air of casual sophistication. With an award-winning international wine list of over 100 wines, of which 52 or more are available by the glass, we will find the perfect match to complement your menu selection. Our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner daily, with extended hours on the weekend. We also feature live entertainment at our piano bar nightly. If you are searching for a place to host your event, look no further. Seasons 52 is the perfect setting for your private or semi-private event. We also feature a Chef's table for smaller groups or more intimate settings. Together we will create the event of the season!
Illiniois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food and service were great! However.. we had requested a table far from the kitchen or bar noise.. the first table given was... right across from the kitchen.... the next one was in the middle of the room across from the kitchen... there was another room off to the side of the kitchen/dining room.. We were not seated there... as I was not the first one to arrive.. the second table is what we ended up with.... It was way too loud for my comfort level and I had to strain the entire time to simply hold a conversation....that is why I asked for the quiet table... so..won't be returning there.. but if the noise doesn't bother you.. good food..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    105
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh Seasonal Cooking, But Aims A Little Too High”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Overall – 3/5
Everything that was an issue for us that evening could be fixed and make this a 5/5.

Staff – 4/5
Excellent. Warm, welcoming and most importantly all acted as if they truly enjoyed being there. Very attentive without being overbearing. Server knew her wines very well, but major fail on describing Hoppin' John then compounded by offering wrong description of dish’s origin. Told server one of the party was birthday boy. They made no extra effort because of it.

Facility – 3/5
Very comfortable chairs. Beautiful rooms. Design of acoustic baffling was weak, making it very noisy just from a partially full room of conversation. Too loud for quiet romantic whisperings or negotiating a business deal.

Food – 2.5/5
Every dish being less than 470 calories was true, but too much hype (add up appetizer, salad, entrée, and dessert). You leave very satisfied but not bloated. No butter on table was great. All healthy cooked. Flatbread was figs and bacon with balsamic vinegar. Great idea but too little topping to taste more than the flatbread. Mozzarella rolled in panko crumbs on red, yellow, and green tomatoes with balsamic vinegar (notice a theme here?) was okay, but few breadcrumbs and low acid tomatoes made it bland. Smoked mozzarella and more acidic tomatoes would have worked much better. Entrée was corn cut from the cob, green beans, mashed Yukon gold potatoes, and chicken breast with BBQ sauce. Menu calls it chicken. Would have been nice to know it was just bland white meat. Desert shooters were fun and allow sampling different tastes.

But worst miss was food temperature. Plate was blazing hot. Chicken was respectably hot. Vegetables and potatoes were room temperature. Too hungry to send it back, we ate it as it was.

Wines – 5/5
Excellent selections. Especially great if you like to have wines before they get famous. You could get expensive labels if you wanted, but the new ones were better. Impressed when one person ordered a single glass of wine and they actually brought a bottle to the table and opened it to give her the one glass.

Price – Reasonable, especially for Oak Brook.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millard_Fillmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food, healthy choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wonderful, tasty food, each item the whole menu under 500kcal and that includes normal food (fish, meat, deserts...)

With normal European sized portions and fair pricing. Wholly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dwatkinsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food and good service at bar and table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had a meal here with a few friends recently. Service was attentive, we had a drink at the bar first while waiting for the rest of our party to arrive, and were well looked after here and later at the table. I had the scallops which were excellent, and after we'd eaten they were happy to make up separate bills for us all which kept things really simple for us all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DougShaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, but no separate checks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My party of 16 dined at Seasons 52 in Oak Brook this past weekend. I enjoyed the easy phone-in booking and my friends liked the atmosphere and the food. Everyone enjoyed dinner very much and it would have been a wonderful segue into an overall great experience had it not been for the server who insisted that our entire party had to be on one check. Instead of relaxing a bit over dessert and cocktails, we ended up in a flurry of calculators, credit card gathering, and awkward cash passing. We spent almost as much time figuring up the check than we did on dinner. With so many fine restaurants to choose from that put the customer first, we plan to have our next dinner elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seasons 52 also viewed

Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 

Been to Seasons 52? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing