We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
One of three Illinois stops on the Underground Railroad

The Graue Mill, a water-powered grist mill that was originally erected in 1852 and is one of only... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Taylor B
,
Chicago, Illinois
3rd generation

It was so fun to bring my grandson to the mill museum and see him enjoy history. We enjoyed having... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2018
Chris W
,
Chesterton
via mobile
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
38
29
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
29
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground railroad water wheel nature center local history old mill all ages great place to walk freshly ground bike ride enjoy nature cornbread hidden gem worth a visit chicago area dupage county cornmeal woods
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

The Graue Mill, a water-powered grist mill that was originally erected in 1852 and is one of only two operating water-powered grist mills in Illinois, has experienced and written a lot of history over the decades. Not the least of which is the fact that it was one of three authenticated Illinois stops on the Underground Railroad, the subversive movement that helped fugitive slaves escape from the American South to Canada before, during and after the Civil War. Located at 3800 South York Road, northwest of the junction of Spring and York Roads, on the banks of Salt Creek in Oak Brook, Illinois, the Graue Mill is surrounded by Fullersburg woods. Added to the National Register of HIstoric Places in 1975 and recognized as a Historic Mechanical Engineering Landmark in 1981, it is currently open to the public and grinds grain that can be purchased at the site. The mill went into operation in the summer of 1852. It was built by Friedrich Graue, who emigrated from Germany to the United States in the late 1840s. He brought with him a knowledge of the craft of waterwheel grist milling and built a kiln on his farmstead, fired the bricks and slowly raised the new structure and waterwheel into place. The mill operated in eastern Du Page County under three generations of the Graue family for about 60 years. In the 1910s, advances in milling technology drove the Graue Mill out of business. However, it was restored by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) in 1934-43 and was opened to the public as a working historic site in 1951. Since then, it has been periodically restored to keep it in operating condition, including work completed in 2002.

Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

It was so fun to bring my grandson to the mill museum and see him enjoy history.
We enjoyed having lunch alongside the creek and a stroll along the bank.

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Mill was working when we were there, fully restored. Ice skated on salt creek as a kid 60 years ago... same old mill. Worth a visit if you are into local history. Plenty of free parking, shade trees wit picnic tables.

Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

This place is such a nice walk through history. It is laid back and not crowded which makes this experience even more enjoyable. It's kind of like a hidden gem! I recommend to take the time to go through the tour and listen to everything the hosts here have to say...it's extremely educational and worthwhile.

2  Thank kseam6259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

it is a small museum in a beautiful setting and we enjoyed it. The docent was working with kids showing them how flour is made, a good reminder that everything doesn't just come from a bag in a grocery store.
It was fascinating too, that they were on the route of the underground railroad. In the museum were some examples of slavery shackles and devices of punishment. Very educational and informative.

Thank TrainsRFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018 via mobile

A former stop on the Underground Railroad. This former grist mill is one of the oldest buildings around. A small museum with a history interpreter of local history and how the mill worked and how it is still working. They grind corn meal here and you can purchase it. I loved coming here when I was s kid.

2  Thank dplush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

This is one of my favorite places to visit. I have walked through the preserves more than I could count and I see something different each time. It is so peaceful and beautiful. When the stresses of life drag you down, a walk in nature can do wonders to refresh your soul. The museum is fascinating and inexpensive. This is a safe place to walk alone and a great place for couples and families to enjoy. Some fish, some canoe, everyone can enjoy it. There are paved trails which are accessible to all ages and limitations. It is really a neat area to explore. Children and adults can learn something here.

1  Thank brendatR3344YZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

a little oasis outside the city. go to the mall then take in a little walk. Very nicely done and well worth the drive over.

I take my son here all the time and its the perfect place for some father son time

3  Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2018

I think it's a nice little place to go to and visit and to see what it's like and it's very interesting.

3  Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We go often and especially like the freshly ground corn meal for our corn bread etc. The tour is cool for families but just seeing part of DuPage County History is special

5  Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews