We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids”

Graue Mill & Museum
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Oak Brook
Attraction details
Brookfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Intresting historic mill to visit on a nice summer day with the family Staff are informative about the mills original workings

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wbgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with a history to share!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a great little museum! Even if you don't want to visit the museum it is worth the stop to enjoy the picturesque view of the Salt Creek and marvel at this tranquil rural setting so close to a very busy suburb. It is a great place to enjoy the changing seasons and take a breath. The museum is very inexpensive and not very big, but it gives a nice history of the early settlers in this area. I think it caters to elementary school groups but we were a group of 4 adults and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. There are displays of rooms in the early days and as well as farm equipment. There is also an Underground Railroad exhibit in the lower level that we ran out of time to visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank livetotravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great grounds”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Beautiful grounds. Easy parking (across the street). If you are in the Oak Brook area.. stop by for a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChgoGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Memories”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

When my Dad worked on Jorie Blvd (since retired) for Continental Can Company (now Crowne Cork & Seal), my Mom and I used to visit him for lunch and the Old Graue Mill was his favorite spot to throw a blanket down and picnic lunch with us. I hope this landmark NEVER goes away. From what I can recall, they actually still grind cornmeal for purchase with the water powered mill. Love the stream running through, foliage... its simply beautiful there. I hope it never changes because my memories won't.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinBritts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not visit if everyone in your party cannot climb stairs”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although 3/5 people in our party enjoyed the attraction, 2/5 were unable to climb the steep 3 flights of stairs required to see all of the attraction. The main floor is just a gift shop and a demonstration of how to grind corn meal. There is no elevator access. The grounds are beautiful and the price of admission is reasonable making it a good attraction for the able bodied.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hawksgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graue Mill & Museum also viewed

Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Lombard, DuPage County
 

Been to Graue Mill & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing