We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel seems more like a relative's guest room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Lancaster, Ohio
1 review
“This hotel seems more like a relative's guest room”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've stayed at this Residence Inn several times, even passing hotels that are closer to our destination because we know that this hotel will not disappoint. The manager was ever-present this past weekend, keeping the breakfast area clean and well supplied. The desk staff are friendly and quickly accommodated our late check out; our roll away arrived without prompting. This hotel would get an excellent review, in my book, if the suites offered a King sized bed. We appreciate the nice re-do of the rooms but it baffles me that a large suite would feature a queen sized bed. Nevertheless, this hotel is a sure bet and I'll put up with the queen beds just because I know that the service will be excellent, the common areas perfectly clean, and the management visible.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    35
    2
    6
See reviews for
48
21
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
194 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile


Had a great stay at the Residence Inn in Oak Brook. Check-in was fast and the room was newly renovated, clean with beautiful decor. The bed was a little on the soft side IMO but I like firm beds. They had a pool and a workout room but didn't use it. Love that it's close to a huge mall. Not sure I would walk it though, it's across a busy street/highway.

Breakfast was great with the usual Res Inn menu of oatmeal, waffles, hash browns, omelette, scrambled eggs, cheese, yogurt etc.

The only negative I could think of was that the hotel was right in the middle of an industrial building so you either have to walk far or have a vehicle and it was very quiet. But would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anoini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have stayed at this Residence Inn several times between August and December. The rooms I have been given have always been clean and comfortable. During the December visit, the drains in the bathroom sink and shower drained very slowly. Since I did not really notice this until the morning and I was only staying 1 night that visit, not much of a problem for me. I mentioned it to the desk clerk when I checked out and she took what seemed like a detailed note about it. The other thing I'll mention is that the building can be hard to find because it is behind several other buildings in an office park setting and the signage is not easy to see, particularly if you arrive when it is dark. The hot breakfast is always plentiful (eggs and/or potatoes, sausage or bacon and waffle maker) and the staff keeps it well stocked during service hours.

Room Tip: My suggestion would be try and get a room on the upper floors as the rooms on the first floor seem t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abel2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This Oakbrook shopping area hotel is a great weekend stay with two caveats. First the good news. With a refreshed look and new furniture the hotel is inviting and quite comfortable. The staff is outstanding. There was the typical buffet breakfast and glass plates for my food -- Disposable dishes belong at the campsite not a Marriott hotel.
Now the issues. The swimming pool was cold. It looked inviting when we jumped in only to ump out fast and stay in the hot tub. I did let the staff know and received a wonderful email from the manager apologizing and thanking me for bringing it to her attention. While this is the appropriate way to handle my comment, I wish it had not been necessary at all.
And here is my biggest issue: the rooms have queen size beds. Who has queen size beds in this day and age in the US? In Europe, yes. In Chicago, no. True they offered a pull-out. But show me a pull out that is actually comfortable. So to Marriott I say, what was your thought process on this? No kings or doubles in the studio? Very strange indeed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Every Thanksgiving weekend we enjoy our stay at this Residence Inn. This year our daughter and her family stayed as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The receptionist made sure our rooms were next to each other. The deluxe continental breakfast is excellent. The manager Mike in the breakfast area suggested Safari Land in nearby Villa Park as a great place to take the kids the day after Thanksgiving. It was a HUGE hit for our 5 grandchildren. The rooms have been redone and are very comfortable. The prices are certainly very reasonable for the Chicago area. The Oak Brook Mall is within walking distance where we dined one evening in one of the many restaurants. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deuxvoyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
643 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend for two night, great value $99 a night including hot buffet breakfast and free parking. Close to Oakbrook mall which has a great Italian restaurant called Maggiano's. My only criticism is the location is not great as it is in a business park but it a nice area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motorcar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

By far the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in, hands down! My infant son spends lots of time on the floor- a nightmare for germs! In other hotels he's gotten very dirty- feet, hands, knees, bottom, just grey or black with dirt. At the Residence in Oak Brook he stayed completely clean. I spilled water in the kitchen area and when I cleaned it up, the paper towel was cleaner than had it been my own home! The cleanliness was extended to the living area, bedroom and bathroom. Comfy, well decorated, very clean and convenient location for shopping, restaurants and groceries. We will stay again!

Room Tip: Suites are great for an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsboregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Brook
1.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
0.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook

Property: Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook
Address: 790 Jorie Blvd, Oak Brook, IL 60523-2256
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oak Brook
#5 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off of I-88 near the Oakbrook Center Mall, 30 minutes from downtown Chicago our convenient location is ideal for weekend or long term stays. Our Oak Brook hotel offers apartment-style suites 50% larger than traditional rooms with fully-equipped kitchens with granite countertops, free WiFi, workstations with natural light and separate living and sleeping areas. Guests can enjoy all new modern furnishings and conveniences like complimentary breakfast, weekday evening social with snacks, beer, wine and even a complimentary grocery shopping service! Make the Residence Inn Oak Brook your weekend home for a visit to Brookfield Zoo or golfing at any one of several fine courses located nearby. Preferred by business travelers, our Oak Brook hotel is near the headquarters of McDonald's, Follett Corp., Ace Hardware, and many other large employers. Our indoor pool, fitness center, outdoor patio off the main lobby and business center make us a true stand-out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chicago Oak Brook Hotel Oak Brook
Residence Inn Oak Brook
Oak Brook Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing