We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really? For these prices?”
Review of Grotto - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grotto
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 22nd St. Butterfield Rd. & Meyers Road
Lisle, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Really? For these prices?”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I love the patio and took my husband there for his birthday and our anniversary. First of all, the prices are high, that's ok, special occasion, but food arrives and portions are enormous, but swimming in oil! I mean swimming!! Food was eh, ok at best, no seriously. Waiter gave us free tiramisu for birthday, which was nice, but overall value was soooooo less than expected or anticipated for this place. Gordon Ramsey would have had a field day!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoNative41011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
woodridge
1 review
“Great food and service in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Met at Grotto for dinner with a few friends. Our server was outstanding. I ordered the filet it was cooked to perfection! My guests were just as pleased with their entrees. We especially loved the dessert presentation. We were informed that all the desserts were made in house by Grotto's pastry chef. Carrot cake seemed a little pricey until they delivered it! It was a huge slice of cake enough for 4 people. I would recommend the Grotto to my friends and family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Not going back.”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had lunch there on a Friday afternoon. Both Cobb Salads had so much dressing on them that they were dripping, ate just the top, the bottom was swimming. The Farfalle Fantsia was so salty that I tried to just pic out the noodles. We mentioned to the waitress about the salads and the saltiness, she didn't really seem to care. Wasn't very busy, can see why, won't return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Father's day brunch”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went late for the brunch,kind of a last minute decision. Although we had called ahead, at 12:00 noon there were plenty of tables. That changed by 12:30, however, and people were being seated outside on the "patio".
Service for a busy day was pretty good, though coffee seemed rationed as is the case in many restaruants more and more. The food was good enough, but unless you start adding unpleasant herbs and spices to be different, what do you want in your scrambled eggs. The idea at a time like this is volume, not gourmet. I didn't see anyone who wasn't loading up on what there was.
As for desserts, you always have to pace yourself and watch for fresh deliveries. The guys that take 10 pounds of sweets will clean off the table before you can get there, otherwise.
The price of $25. each for adults is their normal one, so it's not like Mother's Day.
I don't know what the folks with negative reviews were expecting, but this is light years ahead of many of the downtown Chicago places in terms of staff and food quality.
If you don't like your table, ask to be moved before you sit down. Or, leave. The area around here is packed with nice restaurants, including two in the same shopping center.
If you order fish, expect a fishy taste.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Usually a good place, but Father's Day Brunch 2012 a little disappointing. Main dishes, average at best. Not the biggest selection and what was there, iffy for taste. What did make up for it were the desserts. Not much in terms of selection there either, limited fresh fruit but kudos for both the cheese cake and the carrot cake. Went back for seconds on the carrot cake. Ill give Grotto another chance in the future but a bit disappointing this visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NIKE0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto also viewed

Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing