We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just one night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Hand & Diamond

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
BROMSGROVE
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with my husband & parents to attend wedding at nearby Rowton Castle. Lovely very old 13th (or 14th century Inn). Julie who was bar tender, receptionist & waitress was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble! Equally the evening staff were very efficient even though the place was full to the rafters. Food was good. Rooms are fine although we had to juggle ours round a little as there were eaves in our bedroom & hubby is 6ft tall. I was worried that after a few beers he might crack his head on them! The courtesy bus to & from the venue was perfect & Mike was a star. He gave us his number to call when we were ready to go back to the Inn, great service. All in all a very nice stay. Have stayed in better rooms for the same price, but looking at the age of the place & the service, it was worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEENCHAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Food was nice although the steak was a little well done for my liking apart from that it was faultless. Portions were a good size and quality was excellent. We did have to wait quite a long time for both our starters and main even though it was mid week and quiet. Staff were welcoming and polite. A lovely evening out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nom_nom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break at this pub. Our room was spacious and light and good value for what we paid. We thought the food was great and the menu choice was more 'select' than the usual pub-grub. Although we had a slightly long wait for dinner one evening - the staff were run off their feet so perfectly acceptable! All the staff were friendly and approachable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Only negative to mar our trip - our room was above the side entrance. Unfortunately for us, a small group of 'noisy' overnight guests on some sort of reunion, gathered at this entrance and the intermittent loud cackling of a woman in the group, kept us awake for around two hours until gone 2am. You win some, you lose some..

Room Tip: Room 105 - nice & spacious with double aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a lovely Sunday Lunch today, the roast lamb was delicious. But I was horrified at the price of a glass of wine!! £4.15 for a small glass!! Also never been asked to order my dessert before having my starter & main meal!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank bejenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I drive past this place quite frequently but rarely stop to eat or drink because I live about 5 miles away, so usually carry on home. Twice in the past week I have stopped though. Once on a Sunday afternoon for a couple of pints (don't worry wasn't driving) and again on Monday for lunch. Got there just in time to get an order in before kitchen closes we both went for fish and chips.

It was a good choice, generous portion, really well cooked and reasonably priced. Good beer, cosy atmosphere in the bar. I haven't had an evening meal or sat in the main dining area, but it is a cosy country pub, nice vibe with good food. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eebeegeebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Staying at local campsite, rain ensured we needed a country pub for lunch and to laze away the afternoon. The Old Hand and Diamond turned out to be a real gem. Lovely lunch, well presented, nice selection of real ales too. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Portions were very large and 3 of us shared one desert after a very filling main course. Free wifi meant we could sit on the sofas reading, drinking and watching the rain, will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine19634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here the 17th July the night before my wedding at nearby Rowton Castle. Other guests, not staying at the Castle on the 18th July, also stayed here as we block booked the place. All the arrangements were incredibly easy and the team were very patient with us as we sorted out the details.

The Team at the Old Hand & Diamond could not have been more helpful to us with everything. They let me and the guests staying the night before have a late check out to take time to get ready for the wedding. Guests staying here were given a lift to the Castle and then picked up by the mini-bus at the end of the night. We had a nice quite night in the pub the night before with a hearty meal and a decent pint. The locals, well used to the carnival of wedding visitors the place attracts, all greeted us and made us feel welcome. The breakfast was hearty and plentiful and set us up for the day ahead. The rooms were clean, the woman responsible a real character and the bed and room was very comfortable. Ok the wi-fi is a bit haphazzard but then we are in the middle of the country here and a day without facebook did no harm.

So thanks to the Management and the Team for looking after me and my guests at what was a special time for us. We will be back sometime soon just to enjoy staying with you and seeing a bit more of the beautiful area nearby.

Room Tip: It is a pub so if you are early to bed you can expect some noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coedway
2.7 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Property: The Old Hand & Diamond
Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing