We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Diamond Find!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Hand & Diamond

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Diamond Find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here with friends on the 8th March 2013 to attend a wedding at Rowton Castle which is a 5 min drive away. The Inn was built in the 17th Century has the original beams running through all the rooms and a glowing log fire, which was great to see, we had a light lunch, it was quite busy with people dining, the staff warm and friendly along with a nice atmosphere in the bar, the menu was well varied with some great choices, along with daily specials, we had breakfast the following morning at 9am a Full English was offered though to much for us,
I opted for 2x poached eggs and 2x sausage, very nice.
The Inn offered a free taxi to and from the Castle, we took advantage of the free taxi to collect us at the end of the evening 12:15am. (Don't forget to tip the driver.) Has we had two vehicles we choose to drive to Rowton Castle and leave one car there. My wife and I stayed in room 201 in the roof of the Inn, the one shown from the Inn's web site, a pleasant room 1xdouble 2x single beds the double was comfortable, the on-suite bathroom was good with a large bath, and a hand shower. My only gripe was the tired faded bed spreads when we first walked into the room, would of been nice to see a burst of colour... !
Should we be passing this Inn again we'll certainly be calling in for a warm welcome and excellent food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This place really is a diamond. I stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding at rowton castle. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel right at home. The room was very tidy and comfortable. The food was delicious, all locally sourced and freshly prepared. To top it off they had 'magic mike' come and collect us from rowton castle to take us back at no extra cost. I would definitely return to this wonderful country pub

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lightblue1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were here for a meal the night before a wedding at nearby Rowton Castle. We were a large party of around 21 people and despite the large party size found the service at dinner excellent. The food was delicious and excellent value for money for very generous portion sizes. The beer was also a reasonable price. A few of us stopped overnight, personally my only downside was my room which was a single room with a very small single bed. The very small room was a little dark and grim decor wise and I did find that my feet overhung the bed a little and I am only 5'10. Also whenever anyone walked across the room above it was extremely noisy in my room so both of those, combined with the rain and wind lashing the single glazed windows I didn't get much sleep. The room would be fine for a child or teenager, however if I had been given the option when booking I would have much prefered to have paid slightly more for a standard double room. I had seen a friends rooms and they were much better, so it seems I drew the short straw. For the price though I couldn't really complain. Breakfast was delicious and the young man who servedo us at breakfast really was excellent, Impeccably polite and attentative and could certainly teach others in the trade a thing or two. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: If a single traveller, ask for a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manciet, france
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were staying just down the road and were looking for a country pub lunch that was not a full roast and not packed in like sardines. The welcome was warm and we chose to eat in the bar area - A menu for all tastes and the steak that I had was tasty and very well prepared. Excellent home made chips and very efficient but unrushed service. The staff make a huge effort to make you welcome and the wine list is varied and very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed two nights as we were attending a wedding at Rowton Castle. Room 202 was very clean but was very small. The wardrobe is only half size so could not hang my dress in it and had to make do with the back of the bathroom door. Making a cup of tea involved bending up double to crouch in the corner under the eaves. Bathroom too small for a basin so it is in the room. The bed was comfy and the room would have been lovely if we were just away for a normal weekend but getting ready for a wedding as really tricky in this room due to the lack of space and low eaves. I suspect the rooms on the floor below would be bigger and if you are intending to book for a wedding I would recommend you ask for a larger room. The father of the bride was in the room next door to us on the first night and he was saying how they weren't going to attempt getting ready in that room and they changed at the castle.
The staff are friendly and warm and go out of their way to be pleasant and helpful. The breakfast is orange juice, cereals and the full English. Very well cooked and excellent service from the gentleman on each morning. He was so nice and so welcoming. Cooked breakfasts were excellent! It's a lovely place and I would stay again if I were in the area. Lovely and clean and a lovely place to stay but just ask for a larger room if you are intending to dress for a wedding!

Room Tip: top rooms are very cramped due to the sloping eaves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went as a family for a Saturday afternoon meal together. We were promptly seated and given wine lists and food menus. The eating area looked a bit 'aged' but maybe that is what the decorator intended. It is, after all, country pub. Having said that everything was clean.

The place mats where made of rough slate which was unusual and I was a little concerned about the plate not sitting on it but it seemed OK when I was eating.

The carvery looked very nice but with it being near Xmas I did not fancy facing another roast dinner as there seems to be a prevalence of them at this time of year so I treated myself to fish, chips and mushy peas. My sister-in-law and niece ordered paninis while everyone else had the carvery which was offering either beef or (inevitably) turkey with roast potatoes and other vegetables. Those using the carvery did not have to wait for their food, but those of use ordering non-carvery did not have to wait long.

The food was absolutely fine and very enjoyable and I failed to finish all of it. Those who had the carvery had plenty on their plates too.

Afterwards we ordered from the rather expensive pudding menu and the portions were a good size and the food was well done. The only blot was that cappuccinos were not available as the machine had broken.

Overall, the place was nice, the staff helpful and pleasant and the food was very good. We will eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

recently stayed at this b and b for a wedding at the local rowtan castle the rooms were ready on time we were able to get ready then have a drink before the minibus supplied by hand and diamond took us to the castle he also picked us up to change for the evening function the picked us up at end of night we had a late drink with locals and ian the landlord. Great breakfast following morning, overall the rooms were of good size and clean would recommend a stay at this b and b.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john999o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coedway
2.7 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Property: The Old Hand & Diamond
Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing