We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, avoid downtown traffic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Every part of this place was nice and clean. Beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was very nice. Plenty of storage space. No cell service at all, Wi-Fi worked great on the lap-top but wasn't very good on the phone. We ate at the sports bar, food was great and the prices were fair. Overall a great place to stay. (Wish they had a hot tub though)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for the kind words addressed to our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beds and our restaurant. Due to such beneficial feedback like yours, we are currently working on a new wireless system project to improve our Wi-Fi connection and Cell phone reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Chicago-Northbrook

Best Regards,
Alma
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 287 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Crowne Plaza Northbrook does just about everything right; but their wifi and even ‘wired’ internet connectivity is just plain poor. Three nights in a row I was bumped off consistently and unable to reconnect two of those nights. The tech support just offers some vague explanation and wasted 20 minutes of my time trying to diagnose my PC only to admit that their system cannot support the traffic they have – even at 11pm. The hotel is sparkly clean, the staff are professional and down-right cheerful (way above average!). Their meeting facilities are good and the in house restaurant has good food. The shuttle service is extremely handy and remarkably flexible taking guests up to 5 miles away in just about any direction. There is a huge nature preserve across the street with virtually unlimited paths and trails for exercise as well as a bumper crop of mosquitoes, however. So, a great choice for a hotel, but be warned about Internet access issues.

Room Tip: Most rooms seem to be quiet - good internet access would be a deciding factor. The 4th floor seems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consultantgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
And we would like to thank you for your compliments of our hotel and staff. It's always great to hear our staff providing exceptional service to our guest to make their stay that much more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel after we went to Ravinia. We live in the far southwest suburbs and wanted an inexpensive place to crash after the concert. We used Priceline to bid and ended up at the Crowne Plaza for a decent price. The hotel is just average...nothing spectacular. It does seem to have a decent pool. We stopped by the bar, which was also average, but nice. The hotel had washers and dryers that you could pay to use and a small workout room that was open 24-7. Only thing I really hated about our stay was when I opened our curtains we literally were starring out at a dumpster. Maybe they could have hid it behind some landscaping or a nice fence or brick wall, but nope...just an open dumpster. Overall, good value for what we paid...clean rooms, friendly staff, decent amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. As we strive to provide our guests with the best service and the most comfortable experience we can offer. I'm sorry the room view was not pleasant. Our first priority is to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and offer you a room with a view to the pool our forest preserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice hotel. Rooms are very clean. This hosts a lot of business people so I didn't see any kids there. The hotel is away from the city but not too far. There are a lot of things to do in the surrounding cities. I suggest going to Lake Michigan north of Chicago!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsink369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor community, it's a great tool to hear our guest's feedback. I am glad to hear you had an opportunity to enjoy the city and I hope you took advantage of our shuttle service to the train station, which makes it convenient to go to the city and avoid the drive and parking. We hope to see you soon at the Crowne Plaza Northbrook!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Had some issues. Cable TV signal was week and it caused some channels not to come in. The sleep number bed would not show number but worked after some effort. Pool was good. Breakfast at $12 was too much for me so I passed on it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenj356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. I apologize that our Cable TV signal was week and you were unable to watch some of the channel during your stay. An important aspect of the Crowne Plaza brand is getting a good night sleep and I apologize the sleep number bed remote did not show the number and I hope after it worked you enjoyed a good night sleep. Please let us know when you would like to stay with us again. We would be more than happy to check the room before you arrive to ensure that everything is working properly!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great price from Priceline.

The room was clean, but has Sleep Number beds are not very comfortable, especially since our did not seem to work (unable to turn on controller). The pillows need to be upgraded, as they were lumpy and flat.

The bathroom was updated with plenty of towels. The relaxation aromatherapy kit was a nice surprise. Flat screen TV with all the channels.

The neighborhood is quiet, but could hear people talking from the vents in the bathroom in the middle of the night (loud talking and laughing, probably from the floor above).

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiem23567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the sleep number bed remote not working properly. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the aromatherapy kit and the Flat screen TV. We hope that despite this occurrence, you enjoyed your time at Crowne Plaza Chicago-Northbrook and come back and visit us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Purpose: Sightseeing in Chicago but Chicago hotels being as expensive as they are, we settled for this hotel. A not so short drive to downtown but we saved money and stayed better.

We booked via priceline and $60 (approx.) got us a good room.

A hotel with above avg interiors, finish and feel. The rooms are updated, clean, well kept and managed. The property seems to be cared for. The beds were clean, crisp and comfortable. The appliances (Iron, TV, the coffee maker) were working and good. Didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel other than my nights but I was happy.

Room Tip: Book via priceline....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelondollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! I'm pleased to hear our property fulfilled your needs while visiting the Chicago Area. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our room amenities. We hope to welcome you back on a future trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
0.1 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
657 reviews
5.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 2 in Prospect Heights
318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook

Address: 2875 Milwaukee Ave, Northbrook, IL 60062-6103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range: $83 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook, located 20 minutes from downtown Chicago and 9 miles from O Hare International Airport (ORD). Business travelers to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will enjoy our proximity to the headquarters of companies such as Allstate, ITW, AON, Combined Insurance, Kraft, Walgreen's, Siemens, Caremark and Anixter. With 15,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is well appointed to accommodate your Chicago area meeting, wedding, banquet and seminar groups. Our facilities and seasoned sales staff are prepared to offer an outstanding meeting experience to groups and conferences of 12 to 250 people. Leisure and business travelers alike will love the convenience of our hotel amenities such as free high-speed Internet, full service restaurant and bar, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business center and 24-hour fitness center. Don t forget to take time out during your visit to enjoy our outdoor pool. Visitors looking to experience the Chicago attractions such as Great America, Wheeling s famous Restaurant Row, and all the delights of Downtown Chicago will find the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook ideally situated for an easy and accessible overnight stay. In addition to our hotel s location, guests of the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will be enthralled by our personal service, spacious guest room accommodations and special attentions to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Northbrook
Northbrook Radisson
Crowne Plaza Northbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing