We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel after we went to Ravinia. We live in the far southwest suburbs and wanted an inexpensive place to crash after the concert. We used Priceline to bid and ended up at the Crowne Plaza for a decent price. The hotel is just average...nothing spectacular. It does seem to have a decent pool. We stopped by the bar, which was also average, but nice. The hotel had washers and dryers that you could pay to use and a small workout room that was open 24-7. Only thing I really hated about our stay was when I opened our curtains we literally were starring out at a dumpster. Maybe they could have hid it behind some landscaping or a nice fence or brick wall, but nope...just an open dumpster. Overall, good value for what we paid...clean rooms, friendly staff, decent amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimeyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay at our hotel. As we strive to provide our guests with the best service and the most comfortable experience we can offer. I'm sorry the room view was not pleasant. Our first priority is to ensure our guests are as comfortable as possible. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future and offer you a room with a view to the pool our forest preserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    96
    46
    12
    15
See reviews for
46
31
27
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice hotel. Rooms are very clean. This hosts a lot of business people so I didn't see any kids there. The hotel is away from the city but not too far. There are a lot of things to do in the surrounding cities. I suggest going to Lake Michigan north of Chicago!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsink369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your comments on the Trip Advisor community, it's a great tool to hear our guest's feedback. I am glad to hear you had an opportunity to enjoy the city and I hope you took advantage of our shuttle service to the train station, which makes it convenient to go to the city and avoid the drive and parking. We hope to see you soon at the Crowne Plaza Northbrook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall a good hotel. Had some issues. Cable TV signal was week and it caused some channels not to come in. The sleep number bed would not show number but worked after some effort. Pool was good. Breakfast at $12 was too much for me so I passed on it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenj356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. I apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. I apologize that our Cable TV signal was week and you were unable to watch some of the channel during your stay. An important aspect of the Crowne Plaza brand is getting a good night sleep and I apologize the sleep number bed remote did not show the number and I hope after it worked you enjoyed a good night sleep. Please let us know when you would like to stay with us again. We would be more than happy to check the room before you arrive to ensure that everything is working properly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great price from Priceline.

The room was clean, but has Sleep Number beds are not very comfortable, especially since our did not seem to work (unable to turn on controller). The pillows need to be upgraded, as they were lumpy and flat.

The bathroom was updated with plenty of towels. The relaxation aromatherapy kit was a nice surprise. Flat screen TV with all the channels.

The neighborhood is quiet, but could hear people talking from the vents in the bathroom in the middle of the night (loud talking and laughing, probably from the floor above).

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiem23567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the sleep number bed remote not working properly. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the aromatherapy kit and the Flat screen TV. We hope that despite this occurrence, you enjoyed your time at Crowne Plaza Chicago-Northbrook and come back and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Purpose: Sightseeing in Chicago but Chicago hotels being as expensive as they are, we settled for this hotel. A not so short drive to downtown but we saved money and stayed better.

We booked via priceline and $60 (approx.) got us a good room.

A hotel with above avg interiors, finish and feel. The rooms are updated, clean, well kept and managed. The property seems to be cared for. The beds were clean, crisp and comfortable. The appliances (Iron, TV, the coffee maker) were working and good. Didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel other than my nights but I was happy.

Room Tip: Book via priceline....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelondollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor! I'm pleased to hear our property fulfilled your needs while visiting the Chicago Area. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our room amenities. We hope to welcome you back on a future trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

After waiting at the front desk a couple of minutes to check in, the woman checking us in gave us a free room upgrade. The room was nice and clean, with numerous free little toiletries. We wanted to catch a drink by pool, but the tiki bar was closed. The next morning we had breakfast at their restaurant. They had a buffet, but we ordered off the menu and enjoyed our meals. Overall, nice stay and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review on trip advisor. I apologize for that you had to wait at the front desk longer then expected to check-in; I am glad to hear our staff acknowledge this and upgraded your room. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to the Crowne Plaza Chicago-Northbrook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

From check-in to check-out nothing but a positive expierence. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and makes check-in a breeze. The bar and restaurant are on par with the hotel, it's not a 5 star and you don't pay like on. Pool is large and clean, as well the Tiki bar is a nice touch.

Room Tip: The hotel is basically divided in half, I prefer the south end. However, the north half has sleep nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It is an honor to have welcomed you as a guest just like yourself. We are continuously striving to provide a most comfortable and enjoyable experience for our guest. It is wonderful to hear that we are succeeding in doing so. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
0.1 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
634 reviews
5.3 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Glenview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Address: 2875 Milwaukee Ave, Northbrook, IL 60062-6103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook, located 20 minutes from downtown Chicago and 9 miles from O Hare International Airport (ORD). Business travelers to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will enjoy our proximity to the headquarters of companies such as Allstate, ITW, AON, Combined Insurance, Kraft, Walgreen's, Siemens, Caremark and Anixter. With 15,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is well appointed to accommodate your Chicago area meeting, wedding, banquet and seminar groups. Our facilities and seasoned sales staff are prepared to offer an outstanding meeting experience to groups and conferences of 12 to 250 people. Leisure and business travelers alike will love the convenience of our hotel amenities such as free high-speed Internet, full service restaurant and bar, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business center and 24-hour fitness center. Don t forget to take time out during your visit to enjoy our outdoor pool. Visitors looking to experience the Chicago attractions such as Great America, Wheeling s famous Restaurant Row, and all the delights of Downtown Chicago will find the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook ideally situated for an easy and accessible overnight stay. In addition to our hotel s location, guests of the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will be enthralled by our personal service, spacious guest room accommodations and special attentions to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Northbrook
Northbrook Radisson
Crowne Plaza Northbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing