We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay... Awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Planning meetings for our 6 state Sales Team can be difficult, but working with the staff at the Crowne Plaza Northbrook has been great. I have worked with Rachel for hotel stays and Kelly for catering and room rentals both have been amazing to work with. The Hotel rooms are newly remodeled and the conference rooms are great. The AV department and the restaurant staff are great too! It's nice to have such a friendly group that can accomodate my ever changing needs! Thanks and we will see you back in August!

Midwest Regional Sales Manager

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LT9182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 285 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

These are the comments of a Platinum Priority Club member who is unashamedly critical of anything less than good service.

I have been here 6 nights on business. The hotel ticks all the boxes for features but just does not quite get there on the intangibles that make a difference. I suspect it is a management issue and they usually start at the top and work their way down.

On the up side, this is a busy hotel that was full or near full the whole time I was there and that in itself removes incentive to do better as you can't improve many of the measurable KPI's when you are running at capacity most of the time. The place works and works effectively on a functional basis. It is neat, clean, tidy and relatively quiet. The rooms are good sized and well maintained. To there credit, most guests would not have been aware that they lost 24 rooms last night due to local flooding from a deluge in the small hours of this morning. Operationally this hotel works well.

On the downside there is very little attention to personal service, I saw no real attempt to get to know me as a guest from anyone other than the week-day bar staff (arrrh the tip incentive was at work there) despite being there 6 nights. On the Saturday night I witnessed a bar staff telling a customer in the bar that menu items off the room service menu were not available in the bar. When I questioned that I was told that "he didn't make the rules". I broached the matter later with the duty manager who told me it had been attended to and the customer got his Pizza but then the duty manager tried to justify the original decision from the staff bar staff. Sorry, when managers try to justify bad service it is not a good sign.

This is a good hotel, doubtless you could do a lot worse in the area but they could be a lot better and all they need is an attitude adjustment that would cost them nothing.

Next trip I will use the Crowne Plaza just down the I-294 at O'Hare. it is all together a better run hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terryl-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Stayed over for a couple of days for nearby wedding and found a used article for "relations" in the sheets after being there for a night or two. This was not from us and found it horribly disturbing that they hadn't changed the sheets after the previous guests. We informed the hotel staff who expressed minimal remorse. Before finding this mishap we did enjoy the daily breakfast, but not enough to return- I wouldn't wish our experience on anyone else. Nor could I recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt3862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

Dear Matt3862,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience with the Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago-Northbrook. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you.

The poor service you described during your stay is not a common occurence at our hotel. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,



Myrna Molina
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here for a couple of weeks on business. Great rooms and wireless. Front of house staff very friendly. Bar staff very welcoming. Breakfast staff could do with learning from their colleagues! Breakfast is ok but the bar food and room service food were very good and good value. Good pool area but a little cold to get use of. Will use again due to location and great rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NokyEily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This is a very good business class hotel if you have business in the Northern Suburbs. Chicagoland traffic is brutal, so you should always stay close to your destination.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
Thank DaveyChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I cannot say enough nice things about the Crown Plaza in Northbrook. The room was clean, quiet and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The complimentary hot breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent. The front desk & shuttle driver bent over backwards to get me to and from the company I was visiting. I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Great food.
Great location.
Great transportation.
Great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
0.1 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
647 reviews
5.4 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 2 in Prospect Heights
311 reviews
3.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Glenview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook

Address: 2875 Milwaukee Ave, Northbrook, IL 60062-6103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range: $83 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook, located 20 minutes from downtown Chicago and 9 miles from O Hare International Airport (ORD). Business travelers to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will enjoy our proximity to the headquarters of companies such as Allstate, ITW, AON, Combined Insurance, Kraft, Walgreen's, Siemens, Caremark and Anixter. With 15,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is well appointed to accommodate your Chicago area meeting, wedding, banquet and seminar groups. Our facilities and seasoned sales staff are prepared to offer an outstanding meeting experience to groups and conferences of 12 to 250 people. Leisure and business travelers alike will love the convenience of our hotel amenities such as free high-speed Internet, full service restaurant and bar, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business center and 24-hour fitness center. Don t forget to take time out during your visit to enjoy our outdoor pool. Visitors looking to experience the Chicago attractions such as Great America, Wheeling s famous Restaurant Row, and all the delights of Downtown Chicago will find the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook ideally situated for an easy and accessible overnight stay. In addition to our hotel s location, guests of the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will be enthralled by our personal service, spacious guest room accommodations and special attentions to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Northbrook
Northbrook Radisson
Crowne Plaza Northbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing