We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Traditional Deli” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Max & Benny's Restaurant

Max & Benny's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Deli”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just like NY deli was , but is no longer. Excellent food. Crowded at lunch, but worth the wait! Sunday AM is impossible.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruiserillinois11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    108
    21
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
197 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A very Ordinary Deli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Max and Bennie's is in my opinion a very ordinary deli. The food can be described as the same as you'll find in countless other places. The service is nothing special either. There are so many other better places to eat on the North Shore. I simply can't recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank africanman_840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Everything you would expect from a deli. Great wait staff, classic foods and a real deli counter. One bonus star for carrying halavah.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Deli to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Lots of choices on the menu. I tend to order an old favorite, pastrami. Just the right ratio of lean to fat, piled on dark rye. The soups are excellent, large servings, and filling. My favorite are navy bean and the sweet and sour cabbage. The curly fries are worth a calorie splurge. This is a family place. often we see 3 generations dining together. There is also a bakery and deli for take out and catering. Extensive breakfast selections. And gluten free choices. If my waistline could stand it, I would eat here more often.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
490 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Not New York, But Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

During a recent family visit to Chicagoland my wife and I had lunch at Max & Benny's. As former New Yorkers, we have a high standard for Jewish deli and we were not disappointed at this Northbrook eatery. The atmosphere is strip-mall casual and the service was friendly and efficient. We tried out some classics. My cabbage soup had a very good sweet and sour taste, but the broth was a bit thin. My wife's mushroom barley soup was also tasty but was too thick. However, the generous order of nova lox was excellent and was served with a nice chewy bagel and cream cheese (a bit skimpy). Portions are generous and the price reasonable for the quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max & Benny's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Max & Benny's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing