We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Consistently Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie Grass Cafe

Prairie Grass Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Prairie Grass Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistently Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Our recent lunch at Prairie Grass was very good. The menu has changed since our last visit so we were forced to try new items. The whitefish was outstanding. The strawberry crepe for dessert was a super ending.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pcsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    74
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Northbrook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had lunch here with a friend yesterday. We arrived slightly after 1230 and the place was noisy and crowded. We were seated immediately and brought some very crispy warm bread. I had the tempura shrimp from the appetizer menu and a bowl of the soup of the day which was potato soup. It was a bit thin but tasty. The tempura was very good and the two together made for a perfect lunch. My friend had an omelette that was light, fluffy and very tasty. The first time I came here was for dinner. It is busy at dinner so we had a reservation. My niece and I shared the ancho skirt steak and white fish. Both meals were very good. But the steak was some of the best skirt steak I've had. The wait staff is friendly and the place is crowded with local office workers for lunch and a nice mixed crowd at dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Very good food. I was in a party of 4 and we all loved our food. The Ancho Skirt Steak is amazing!!! Highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine with outstanding service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

A rather noisy atmosphere but has outstanding cuisine selections with organic and healthy selections. The service is tops - with waiters refilling your glass after each drink and they have a good computer ordering service that has the details of your order going to the kitchen from a desk near your table. The crusted halibut had a very tasty sauce and vegetables and other entrees were equally enticing. Very satisfying dinning experience and worth repeating.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 764pwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best Northbrook restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent food and atmosphere, service B/B- but not so bad it spoiled the experience. Dinner menu always good with organic products featured. Wide selection of excellent appetizers (pate, spring rolls, dates particularly good) and many good entrees (crusted halibut and sausage special of the day always good). Wine list good but not cheap, they also offer BYO as that appeals. We've eaten here many times and never had a bad experience, definitely worth trying if you haven't yet done so.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Grass Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Grass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing