We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice, but Pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Alexander's Restaurant

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pointe Dr.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice, but Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Food was good. It was pricey and not a relaxed as I wanted. It is close to our hotel and the freeway.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetopraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    68
    20
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Aways consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Food is good, wait staff friendly, but the restaurant is very noisy and hard to carry on any conversation. I guess that is the trade off.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BothellEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Meal at a Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I like J Alexander's because of it's consistency. Having been dining there for over 10 years now, I always know that I will be greeted by smiling hosts, the dining room is always impecable, the staff is always neat and professional, and the food is terrific. There aren't too many restaurants that offer this predictable consistency. Always a treat to dine here.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaimeb1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Service - Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I walked in a bit after the lunch rush and just wanted a salad. The menu looked promising with a few to choose from. I tried the Grilled Chicken Salad. Wow was I surprised how fast it was served, how good it looked (see photo) and how great it tasted. I will go again next time i'm back for a visit. I was surprised to find myself back in my car within 25 minutes of driving into their lot, without feeling like I rushed my meal.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Restaurant with Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have driven by this restaurant many times, but I am happy we finally stopped in. The service was very good and fast. The menu had a decent variety and the specials for the evening we were there were excellent.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garysteciuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing