We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very consistant Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francesca's North

Francesca's North
Reserve with OpenTable
Francesca's North is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 110 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shermer
Transit: Just two blocks from Metra's Northbrook station
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very consistant Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been going to Francesca North for 20 years and the food quality is very consistant. The service is good and the facility has been very well maintained.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
468 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great place for a small group party.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had never been to Francesca's North prior to this weekend but had certainly seen it advertised everywhere. Went to a bridal shower there. They have a nice room to serve groups.

To begin we had pizzas with arugula passed as the appetizer. These where outstanding and the best part of the meal. Makes me want to return to try other pizza offerings. Once we sat down we where served family style which is nice but there was so much food I hate to think about the amount of waste there was. First course was lentils with goat cheese and a tossed salad. Both were tasty. For the main course, there was a dish of grilled chicken and green beans as well as a dish of pasta and vegetables. The chicken was nicely cooked and moist and the pasta was fine. Dessert was coffee and profiteroles. I think the profiteroles were a disappointment. The puffs were chewy and something off tasting with the chocolate sauce. The star of the meal was really the pizza!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a diner at our table that required a gluten free meal and they happily made a special lentil dish and a special pasta dish for her.

If I need a place for a small group party I would certainly consider having the party here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hpmicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love all Francesca's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is part of a restaurant group, but they are all somewhat different (not style per se, but menu items).
A wonderful Italian restaurant with options for everyone. Pasta dishes are huge so you can either share or have leftovers for the next day. Their fish dishes are usually very good as well. We've been going to years and don't plan on stopping

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
182 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Feels like a city restaurant - in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Even thought it's in a suburban strip mall, this restaurant has the authentic, cozy feel of a little place downtown. The service is chipper and the food is quite good, starting with delicious bread and olive oil and continuing through a large menu of pasta, meat and fish choices. The only drawback is the noise level, which can be uncomfortable. Go for lunch or an early dinner, when it's quieter.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Farewell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for weekday dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have been here on a Saturday night twice in the past few years and have avoided it because of the noise level.

A couple of weeks ago we passed by on a weeknight and decided to try it. What a difference! While the place got fairly full, there was not the din we had expreienced on a Saturday. As a result we had a chance to really enjoy the food which was excellent.Not that the food was bad on the weekend, it was just hard to enjoy it.

Now that we have discovered the secret, we will be going back--on a weekday--many times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicagoape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's North also viewed

 

Been to Francesca's North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing