We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food / long wait even with reservation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ron of Japan

Ron of Japan
Reserve with OpenTable
Ron of Japan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 110 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food / long wait even with reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a 7:45 reservation, arrived very early, promised seating in 40 min, finally seated at 8:30. Manager rude when asked why the delay. He argued ith us. Bar area dark and cold. Good food saved the night.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    12
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Still of of our favorites....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I am surprised by some of the reviews on here but I have eaten here a handful of times only but have been very happy every time. Classic older decor and comfortable habachi tables. We love the egg sauce and usually get the shogun and its always more food that I can eat. We love the shrimp appetizers too and don't forget the Mai Tais!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawksfan1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ron of Japan in Northbrook has been a family favorite for years. We have always celebrated all sorts of occasions here. Our most recent visit was last weekend for my birthday. We made reservations for 7:15pm and when we arrived at 7:00pm we were seated right away. Walking through to our table we couldn’t help but notice how packed the restaurant was. In all of my times here I have never seen them that busy. It was so busy we were brought to a part of the restaurant I also had never even seen before. It looked like an extra room that they made to use when they’re busy (like this night), with only four tables. We had a party of five, so we were seated with a nice couple. For drinks, my mom and I ordered their Super Mai Tai and trust me, the name doesn’t have super in it for nothing. On to the food: the soup and salad were delicious as always. We ordered four shrimp per person for an appetizer and they had the amazing egg sauce, just as delicious as I remembered from last time. We then had vegetables and fried rice – just perfect. The main entrée was the crown lobster tail and it was perfectly cooked, a more than enough large size tail and had plenty of their special egg sauce. Ron’s has never disappointed me and has always been my go-to special occasion’s dinner place. The staff is always friendly and so accommodating. If you want superior quality, quantity, atmosphere, and service this is the place to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JEANDERSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I didn't like sitting with people I didn't know.

I loved the food. The egg on the shrimp is fantastic. I always have too much food when I go but it was worth every penny and got a goody bag to go.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What Happened.?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Japanese steak houses used to be great for entertainment and decent food. Even the chef's were authentic. Among the best, Ron of Japan was a standout. We had friends in from Europe and made the mistake of taking them here. Not only was the food greasy and tastless, the chef was terrible. It will be a long time before I venture into a Japanese steak house, this was emabarrassing.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ron of Japan also viewed

 
 

Been to Ron of Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing