We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi done right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fujiyama Japanese Restaurant

Fujiyama Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 118 Restaurants in Northbrook
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sushi done right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The owner was very attentive, friendly and assertive. The fish was fresher than expected and the sashimi portions were ample. A simple, small strip mall sushi bar but unless you need a fancy atmosphere, I suspect that this is the best sushi in the area. I would go back without hesitation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank miraval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome Japanese comfort food in Northbrook!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wow! Just had one of the best Japanese comfort food dinner EVER! I start with a cup of scalding hot green tea, miso soup... and agedashi tofu. I wish you could have smelled the broth! It was the best I've ever had because the broth was fish based!! The tofu was well fried crusty and chewy with a soft, silky tofu center. I couldn't get over how wonderful the broth tasted ... definitely order this appetizer!

Then I ordered basic sushi: salmon, tuna, yellowtail, albacore, and eel. Each bite was splendid. Reminded me of all those sushi bars in Tokyo. Even the ginger tasted remarkably good!

My main entrée: Tempura Udon! The basketplate of shrimp and traditional veggy tempura was crazy good. I mean twin long beans, a carrot sliver, a cross cut zucchini slice, and a yam disk was just the beginning! Broccoli flowerettes, and the two long perfectly deep fried shrimp was a meal in itself. It came coupled with a smallish bowl of udon bathing in clear broth and fresh diced green onions. This is my definition of Japanese comfort food ... no pretense, no nonsense, just udon, broth, and green onions. I add in a few extra dashes of the dried peppers and I'm in Japanese comfort heaven.

Ms. Irene was the waitress and she was very attentive, asked me where I was in town from, and genuinely engaging.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank changrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great neighborhood place for inventive sushi and authentic Japanese fare. They have one of the best bento boxes on the North Shore. The place is small so midweek is a good choice. The service is very quick and accurate if a bit unfriendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best sushi in the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I have not found better sushi in the North Shore. It is freshly made by chef Paul, and his wife Irene is an amazing waiter. Irene remembers every order, and Paul makes the best sushi. I strongly recommend there specials including the North Shore Roll, and The Sunrise roll. And for regular rolls, any kind of tuna, eel, and their shrimp tempura rolls. I haven't seen fresher, or better sushi

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
1,002 reviews
758 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in the area!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Fujiyama is by far the best sushi-serving restaurant in the Chicago area. It's cozy and welcoming, and I always stop by whenever I'm in town.

My favorite appetizers are the soft shell crab, the stuffed mussels, and the fried tofu. As for the sushi, no words can do justice in describing the ecstasy that ensues when you take a bite into it. It's definitely a great deal because the sushi chef puts a lot more fish than rice (unlike many other sushi restaurants) and charges probably 75% of the price of most other high class sushi places.

Fujiyama is run by a sweet couple and the service is impeccable. The wife, the regular server, is attentive, friendly, and accommodating. And the husband, the sushi chef, is fun to chat with and, of course, makes the best sushi!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiyama Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fujiyama Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing