We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The best !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francesco's Hole In The Wall

Francesco's Hole In The Wall
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lake Forest, IL
Level Contributor
221 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“The best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great food on the cheap! Limited space parking lot! Get there early and bring cash! No credit cards. Worth the hassle. A local dining institution!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    30
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Same old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just the same old heavy american italian food that's done all over chicago. Big portions of mediocre food that had the table next to us "wowed". If you like that sort of thing this is the place for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“cozy atmosphere - americanized food and sizes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

The atmosphere was really cozy and we really enjoyed the entire ambience. Don't mind sitting a small squeezed in tables for good food and atmosphere. However, the food was a little disappointing. We really thought we would have a true italian eatery (due to word of mouth) but to us it was more like any americanized over cheesey wanna be italian. Guess we are just too spoiled having spent some years in Italy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Special Italian Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Blackboard menu, great food, no reservations, lines at the door, but well justified. Diverse offering of home made food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BlueDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,187 reviews
551 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

While I was traveling for business in the area, I decided to have dinner at Francesco's. It was a great experience! I got a table for one, and I appreciated the vibe of the restaurant -- it's small, with about 20 tables, all of them filled. It had an intimate feel without being pretentious. The menu is on a white board and appears to change daily; it had a variety of dishes I found appealing, from pastas to fish and other proteins. I ordered a salad, which had a delicious dressing and was filled with artichokes and italian meats and cheeses. The server kindly brought me a smaller-than-normal size since I was dining alone. For my entree, I had a delicious rigatoni with sausage and arugula in a light tomato sauce. And, spumoni for dessert! I thought prices were reasonable. Best of all, service was spectacular -- super-friendly and fun. A pleasure!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesco's Hole In The Wall also viewed

 

Been to Francesco's Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing