We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This a great place!!!!”
Review of Sybaris Northbrook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sybaris Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! very nice interior, romantic atmosphere, pool, waterfall, falls into a fairy tale! :)
Last year on Valentine's day my beloved made an offer here, and this year we have a wedding on 14 February ! After the wedding, we at once in this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 150 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

My fiancé and I went for our dating anniversary and it was so much fun! It was extremely private and a great place to shut out the rest of the world. They have mp3 hook ups that will play not only in your room, but in the pool area too. Though there aren't too many channels, they supply a DVD player. The bath amenities are awesome too. They supplied extra toothbrushes, toothpaste, mouth wash, etc.

The only draw backs, the floor of the pool area is a bit rough on the feet. We had a coffee machine, but our room wasn't stocked with coffee. While swimming, I was concerned that there was a rose petal floating around that wasn't put there by us. So I was a bit unsatisfied with the pools cleanliness. They had vending machines that didn't work.

Altogether, it may not exactly be worth as much as is, but the experience is worth it. You will never find a hotel like Sybaris. I will definitely be scraping pennies together for my honeymoon weekend there. Luckily, after my original stay, they gave me a coupon for up to 50% off. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawliepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the Sybaris for an overnight trip and I really have no complaints. It is a little pricey to get the room over night, but the staff were all friendly and the rooms were very clean. Everything work in the room and was ery relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penguin_3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I of 14 years wondered if this place was too romantic/sexy for us. We had gotten an image from the advertising and reputation it had from a couple people we know. Thankfully it wasn't over the top - and we had a comfortable two night stay at the Northbrook location.

We stayed in a classic whirpool suite. It's really built for someone that wants to relax and enjoy the room as a getaway. We had gift certificates and mainly used it off and on while exploring the city. If you want to explore the city find a place downtown or a better deal on a hotel. If you're looking to relax or spend quality time with your significant other - this is nice.

If you're looking to stay sign up to get deals on Sybaris' website. You can get way better deals that way. Don't spend full advertised price - too much.

The whirlpool suite was a decent size room. We loved having our own building and no neighbors to contend with. The room was very clean and comfortable. Even enjoyed the massage chair. Bathroom spacious and clean. It did have a fridge, microwave and dvd player.

It would have been nicer with a couple little things. No wi-fi. I get it, it's a getaway sort of place - but even fast food joints give you the option. The tv options were also bad...not many channels. You also had to dance around the porn channel which I seemed classless - probably the only over the top thing about the place. Whirlpool had a couple little issues too.

All in all it was a nice place that would work really great for a certain type of getaway. Service was decent when making reservations and while visiting property.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ICNiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Shame on the people who complain about LittleThings or Anything @ All !! My husband & I have been members since our honeymoon in 2009 & was Very Impressed The staff was Great,Clean rooms & the basics were there just in case you forgot yours. You Are Not Gonna Find Any Other Place with Swimming Pool,HotTub,Fireplace,Jaccuzi & Steamroom In Your Room! We Praise Mr.Kenneth C.Knudson, may he Rest in Peace, for creating such a Wonderful,Romantic Getaway!!! Thank You!!

Room Tip: Corner suites seem to feel as if you are the only ones there. Try the Majestic room & ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

i was there with my wife on 10-05-12 and i can only say one word PERFECT. From the amenities to the linens. i loved this place it was so romantic for us and completly private which i had no porblems with. who wouldnt want complete privacy for you and your loved one. I WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ismael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Seriously, i thought this would be a great get away. I know its considered old school but didnt think it would be for real. First of all the room was covered in carpet secondly, all the amenities where super dated, and finally it was dirty. In Northbrook, the rooms are comparable to a very cheap motel. On the tv was 3 channels that played Twighlight, Underworld, and porn. Seriously, if you have standards this place isnt worth $50 per night let alone $200. I swear i feel got. I wish i could get have my money back. To top it all off there where small bleed stains on the sheet. So to hammer my point about this place in your head, Never Ever Go to this place. Whatever you dont go even if its free. I promise you will regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Levar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
24.8 mi away
Champagne Lodge and Luxury Suites
0.7 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
5.5 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
Hyatt Regency Deerfield
#2 of 6 in Deerfield
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sybaris Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Northbrook

Address: 3350 Milwaukee Ave, Northbrook, IL 60062-7126
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Northbrook
Price Range: $140 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Northbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Northbrook, Illinois is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sybaris Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Sybaris Hotel
Sybaris Pool Suite Northbrook
Northbrook Sybaris Suites Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing