We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“This a great place!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sybaris Northbrook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sybaris Northbrook to your Saves list
Sybaris Northbrook
3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This a great place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! very nice interior, romantic atmosphere, pool, waterfall, falls into a fairy tale! :)
Last year on Valentine's day my beloved made an offer here, and this year we have a wedding on 14 February ! After the wedding, we at once in this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    20
    11
    9
    4
See reviews for
1
105
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My fiancé and I went for our dating anniversary and it was so much fun! It was extremely private and a great place to shut out the rest of the world. They have mp3 hook ups that will play not only in your room, but in the pool area too. Though there aren't too many channels, they supply a DVD player. The bath amenities are awesome too. They supplied extra toothbrushes, toothpaste, mouth wash, etc.

The only draw backs, the floor of the pool area is a bit rough on the feet. We had a coffee machine, but our room wasn't stocked with coffee. While swimming, I was concerned that there was a rose petal floating around that wasn't put there by us. So I was a bit unsatisfied with the pools cleanliness. They had vending machines that didn't work.

Altogether, it may not exactly be worth as much as is, but the experience is worth it. You will never find a hotel like Sybaris. I will definitely be scraping pennies together for my honeymoon weekend there. Luckily, after my original stay, they gave me a coupon for up to 50% off. Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawliepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the Sybaris for an overnight trip and I really have no complaints. It is a little pricey to get the room over night, but the staff were all friendly and the rooms were very clean. Everything work in the room and was ery relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin_3521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I of 14 years wondered if this place was too romantic/sexy for us. We had gotten an image from the advertising and reputation it had from a couple people we know. Thankfully it wasn't over the top - and we had a comfortable two night stay at the Northbrook location.

We stayed in a classic whirpool suite. It's really built for someone that wants to relax and enjoy the room as a getaway. We had gift certificates and mainly used it off and on while exploring the city. If you want to explore the city find a place downtown or a better deal on a hotel. If you're looking to relax or spend quality time with your significant other - this is nice.

If you're looking to stay sign up to get deals on Sybaris' website. You can get way better deals that way. Don't spend full advertised price - too much.

The whirlpool suite was a decent size room. We loved having our own building and no neighbors to contend with. The room was very clean and comfortable. Even enjoyed the massage chair. Bathroom spacious and clean. It did have a fridge, microwave and dvd player.

It would have been nicer with a couple little things. No wi-fi. I get it, it's a getaway sort of place - but even fast food joints give you the option. The tv options were also bad...not many channels. You also had to dance around the porn channel which I seemed classless - probably the only over the top thing about the place. Whirlpool had a couple little issues too.

All in all it was a nice place that would work really great for a certain type of getaway. Service was decent when making reservations and while visiting property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ICNiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Shame on the people who complain about LittleThings or Anything @ All !! My husband & I have been members since our honeymoon in 2009 & was Very Impressed The staff was Great,Clean rooms & the basics were there just in case you forgot yours. You Are Not Gonna Find Any Other Place with Swimming Pool,HotTub,Fireplace,Jaccuzi & Steamroom In Your Room! We Praise Mr.Kenneth C.Knudson, may he Rest in Peace, for creating such a Wonderful,Romantic Getaway!!! Thank You!!

Room Tip: Corner suites seem to feel as if you are the only ones there. Try the Majestic room & ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

i was there with my wife on 10-05-12 and i can only say one word PERFECT. From the amenities to the linens. i loved this place it was so romantic for us and completly private which i had no porblems with. who wouldnt want complete privacy for you and your loved one. I WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ismael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Seriously, i thought this would be a great get away. I know its considered old school but didnt think it would be for real. First of all the room was covered in carpet secondly, all the amenities where super dated, and finally it was dirty. In Northbrook, the rooms are comparable to a very cheap motel. On the tv was 3 channels that played Twighlight, Underworld, and porn. Seriously, if you have standards this place isnt worth $50 per night let alone $200. I swear i feel got. I wish i could get have my money back. To top it all off there where small bleed stains on the sheet. So to hammer my point about this place in your head, Never Ever Go to this place. Whatever you dont go even if its free. I promise you will regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Levar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
dana hotel and spa
#39 of 184 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sybaris Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Northbrook

Property: Sybaris Northbrook
Address: 3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Northbrook
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Northbrook, Illinois is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sybaris Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Sybaris Hotel
Sybaris Pool Suite Northbrook
Northbrook Sybaris Suites Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing