We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back roads Tavern”

Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap
Ranked #10 of 118 Restaurants in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back roads Tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The burgers are great. There aren't many options on the menu, but everything is great. Cash only, so make sure you have cash. And don't be surprised if there's a wait, but it's well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Roadhouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This outstanding community treasure has not changed in 50 years. Limited menue of great food, especially burgers, barbeque beef and shrimp and crabmeat cocktail. Great selections of cocktails and beer. You will love it!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
230 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great burger!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Local treasure with the best burger I've had in quite a while; cash only.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SB1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Wisconsin Tavern on the North Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have been coming to Charlie Beinlich's my whole life, and except for adding a delicious chicken wrap to the menu, nothing has ever changed. Ok, some of our favorite waiters have retired, but new favorites have taken their place. The restaurant, for the uninitiated, is completely unpretentious. But the food is upscale road house all the way. The shrimp cocktail (or crab and shrimp) is the best you will find anywhere--cold and crisp and fresh--from Lakeside Foods (so says the menu which is posted on the wall--don't even think of asking for your own) in Winnetka. Everything on the pared down menu is outstanding. The burgers are of the finest quality beef, though I always get the grilled cheese with raw onions...just as I have always ordered since I was a kid, only now I get my martini with it! It is not a four star establishment, unless you give stars for delicious food, wonderful and personable service, and a decor which is refreshing as it is retro without trying to be retro. How cool is that? Oh...and if you ask for coffee and dessert...you will get a rather unpleasant surprise... lol

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The menu is simple and small; burgers, cheeseburger, shrimp cocktail, ham and cheese sandwich, cheese sandwich, bbq beef, chili, or cold sandwiches (roastbeef, ham, egg/tuna salad). But what they do make is delicious. I can only vouch for the cheeseburger since that is what I had, but it was definitely a two thumbs up. The patty was nice and juicy, perfect caramelized onions, bun, and cheese beautifully melted, plus a great side of cole slaw and fries. If you're in the mood for a beer and burger, this is a great local place to go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katklee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing