We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A good family restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnabys of Northbrook

Barnabys of Northbrook
Ranked #9 of 112 Restaurants in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you don't mind noise, kids, and dim lighting, the place has very good food. Delicious thin crust pizza, pasta, and chicken parmigiana. The ambiance is non existant but if you're just looking for reasonably priced, tasty food, it's worth going.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best thin crust pizza in Chicagoland!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've been coming to the Northbrook Barnabys for over 20 years! In my opinion this place has the BEST thin crust pizza in all of Chicagoland. I don't know what it is about the Northbrook Barnabys but the pizza here tastes MUCH better than the pizza at other Barnabys locations (such as the Des Plaines and Schaumburg ones). The spaghetti with meat sauce and meatballs is also excellent here as well! I hope to keep coming here and enjoying the awesome pizza for another 20 years!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GQTravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kind of soup nazi...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Glad I read about this restaurant before I went so that I had some idea of what to expect.

Seat yourself, order at one counter, drink at bar, voice yells, get appetizer at window 2, same voice, get pizza at mysterious tiny window that no one will help you find.

I just felt very out of step and working too hard for pizza. The drinks are at a bar and not free refills. The bartender looked less than thrilled to be there and then very less that thrilled that I did not tip him for my soda. Sorry but no. My appetizer was quite good but the pizza was just alright. The crust is very hard and does look like a pie crust (which is kinda fun). It certainly wasn't the worst pizza ever but not the best by any means. I read some terrible reviews about the employees but beyond the attitude bartender everyone seemed pretty nice.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Fun place for dinner and you can walk from hotel! Give it a try. Reasonable prices and cold beer. Pizza is thin crust. Veal Parm was a hearty dish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimplyParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
115 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I Liked It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was good: It wasn't very fancy -- as other reviewers may have mentioned, you order at the counter. It has a very old-country 70s feel to it. I like the great pricing and had the veal parmigiana. I enjoyed lunch so much I went back for dinner with colleagues afterward. Very friendly staff.

I would visit again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OutOfTheCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnabys of Northbrook also viewed

 

Been to Barnabys of Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing