We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Liked It”

Barnabys of Northbrook
Ranked #10 of 120 Restaurants in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I Liked It”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was good: It wasn't very fancy -- as other reviewers may have mentioned, you order at the counter. It has a very old-country 70s feel to it. I like the great pricing and had the veal parmigiana. I enjoyed lunch so much I went back for dinner with colleagues afterward. Very friendly staff.

I would visit again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OutOfTheCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    44
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quick option for lunch”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

You order at the counter and then find your own seat. The food is good enough and it's a quick option for lunch.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank amylister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good food and good value, but needs better signage inside”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was staying at the hotel across the street and walked over for dinner. Very good food! Not having been here before though, I was confused about the business model. When you walk in, there's a hostess station, but no sign that says to go to the back counter to order. I figured it out by watching others walk straight to the back. You order your food at one counter, and then wait in a second line at the bar to order your drinks. The night I was here the bar line was pretty long, so the food counter was calling out my order number while I was still in line at the bar. So you end up with two credit card receipts, two separate tips (not sure what exactly I was tipping?), and you carry your food back to your table. I think I would have preferred regular waitress service at a place with the food as good as it was, plus I should have chosen to not sit next to the guy with the microphone that was calling out food orders while trying to enjoy my meal. Still, I enjoyed it and would go back next time I'm in town

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saxorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“pinched but perfect”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Barnaby's is a Chicago landmark. They serve the best corn meal thin crust pizza with pinched edges,containing their own fresh sauce. The service style is unique-- you pick your table then go to the order counter to order and pay. they will call your # when it is ready. Drinks are ordered from a seperate full service counter and some beverages are available in pitchers. We had Mustaccioli (delicious) potato skins ( a specialty) ceasar salad and a pizza made to order with our ingedients. No room for desert.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Shakey's Pizza with an attitude”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place was across the street from our hotel. The restaurant has no signage that it is self-serve. The food was average at best. We tried it once BUT would not go back.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank samroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnabys of Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing