We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Almost gave 4 stars, but just had to give 3” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Madison
Level Contributor
222 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Almost gave 4 stars, but just had to give 3”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Check in was pretty good, very friendly staff. Well explained features, club, etc. No upgrade. Lobby was clean. Pantry had a very small choice of items.

When walked to room on 4th floor, I noticed bumps in the carpet. Turns out the bumps are from the carpet coming up from the floor, in the middle of the hall. Almost a trip hazard.

Smell of the hallway and room very reminiscent of a nursing home, or elder care facility. Not super strong, but not pleasant.

Entering room took photos. Room was normal size room with typical recent Sheraton style. Bathroom nice and clean, workspace excellent. Bed nice and comfy.

HVAC worked very well. Tried air conditioning, and heat, both very responsive.

Internet excellent, stayed online all night.

Carpet in room coming up from the floor, and once again, a potential trip hazard. The bumps are about 1 inch high by about 8 inches long. They blend in with the dark carpet, so hard to see.

I am surprised to see this extreme carpeting issue throughout a newer Sheraton. I cannot imagine how the carpeting vendor would not be accountable for such a poor installation. Nonetheless, the carpet should be replaced, or repaired.

Ordered room service, and it took about 40 minutes to receive food..

Ordered burger and fries, with carrot cake. Did not receive fries (which I did not notice until I sat down to eat). I called to room service. No one answered the phone, but there was a voice mail message saying to leave a message and they would respond to my request ASAP. I never received a call back, or my fries.

If room service response was good when I called, I would probably have given hotel 4 stars. But after that, and the carpeting, i downgraded to 3 stars.

Room Tip: Request away from elevator, and non-connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClickTheGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    79
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
48
35
15
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a clean comfortable new Sheraton - really enjoyed the set up of this facility. I got a good deal on the room as it was booked through Hotwire. I am not sure if I would pay full price to stay here or even what full price is. However, I will say the staff is very friendly and went above and beyond when I asked to find the closest Chicago pizza for dinner. If you are in the area for Kraft or etc., it is a great area to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJuinBama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Felt like set up if Hyatt Place - with half the service and half the room size. Wasn't impressed at all, service was scattered and dismissive. Internet was down most of my time there, and overall below average. Maybe I'm becoming a Marriott person? I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

There were 3 wedding parties staying at the hotel when we went, 2 of which had their ceremonies and receptions there. We were part of the third one, that had the ceremony and reception offsite.

The rooms were nice and clean, the front desk staff were very friendly as were the majority of the restaurant and bar staff.

We were disappointed of the restaurant server on Labor Day morning - she saw us with our bags (an obvious sign that someone is in a hurry) and could not walk any slower to give us breakfast menus. Before we were able to ask for espressos while she was handing us the menus, she turned around and left. We waited for 15 minutes for her to show back up (the restaurant is small with only a few tables and only 1 was already occupied) and told her we were leaving because she was taking too long. She giggled and said "OK" rudely.

We would consider returning to this property for other occasions but would definitely have one in mind. You should too.

Room Tip: Rooms with better view are the ones facing the parking lot (Willow Rd side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeryP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

The Sheraton Northbrook is a pleasant stay. Located just north of The Glen it is convenient to many NorthShore locations. Close by are the usual upscale "fast food" places with even places like Whole Food, Lowes, and Costco fancied up for the NorthShore. The hotel is stylish.Some of the rooms are a long way from the one bank of elevators located towards the end of the hall. The lobby and bar looked like comfortable places to meet with friends. I was solo but several wedding parties were staying at the hotel. The room was nice size and rather quiet considering the doors are so heavy that they bang shut. The staff was efficient and pleasant. Easy parking and easy in and out. The only negative comment would be the linens and towels are not up to the quality that I expect being mainly a Hyatt person. The price of my room was low because I had a group rate. I suspect the rates are much higher and thus would lower the overall value. If you need to be in the area... a good choice.

Room Tip: Rooms are the north side overlook a subdivision. Room room on the south side overlook the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wittenbergbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

good luck getting a reservation. i called seven times in 24 hours. twice the call was not answerer. once i was transferred to room service. three times their 'system was down could i call back later". i finally asked "ashley" if she could call me back since there system is always down. the answer is "no". If it were not for a wedding i would stay elsewhere - including on a park bench. this is the most horrendous idea of customer service i have ever come across - ever....

Stay elsewhere

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chichichicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpatterson04, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear ChiChiChicago. I apologize for your frustration trying to make a reservation. The issue of no-one answering the phones and our system being down is concerning to me. I don't have an Ashley at my hotel so I will contact our 800# to review the situation with them. Our standard is that our phones are answered within 3 rings at our front desk. All reservation calls are handled through a central reservation system and I have not been notified that we had any system issues. It sounds like we failed in all those areas. I have addressed your issues with our General Manager as well as our front desk team. I do apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

First, I have to say that we found the hotel to be beautiful, fresh, immaculately clean. The room was comfortable, decorated in a pretty and restful Asian style. Bathroom big and well appointed. Not long after checking in, we heard barking coming from the room next door. At first, I thought it was a TV show but soon realized it was a real, live, very loud and unhappy DOG barking on and on. My husband went to the lobby to ask that either we or the dog be relocated. No way were we going to listen to that all night! To our surprise, we were told that Starwood Hotels have a "pet-welcome" policy. WHAT?? And at first, the desk clerk refused to move us! My husband insisted and so the clerk relented. A bellman came quickly and moved us to the other side of the hotel. You could hear the dog all the way down the hall. No doubt others were bothered too. The rest of our stay was pleasant and uneventful. But I will keep this Starwood policy in mind when booking hotels in the future. I would expect a barking dog at a low-end motel. But at a hotel this nice?? Really??

Room Tip: Ask if there is a DOG near your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gpatterson04, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear SallyMinnesota. We are a dog friendly hotel, but not a barking dog friendly hotel. I understand from speaking with our front office manager that we were sold out the night you were here which caused the delay in finding another room to move you to. Our policy is that if a dog is barking, we notify the guest in the room and if the barking doesn't stop we ask the guest to remove the dog from the hotel. I apologize that you were inconvenienced by this guest. You mentioned the cleanliness of our hotel and we have an amazing team of housekeepers. If we have had a dog in a room, that room is deep cleaned from top to bottom. I hope you will stay with us on future stays. If you need assistance with future reservations, please call me direct at 847/897-6404. Regards, Geri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
2.1 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
4.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Glenview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago North Shore/Skokie
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel

Property: Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
Address: 1110 Willow Road, Northbrook, IL 60062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, conveniently located in the North Shore of the Chicago area, offers a stylish and comfortable stay for all guests, whether visiting for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing