We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Navy graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Navy graduation”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a great stay! The staff was wonderful and the room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast room is nice, but I did not take the opportunity to eat while I was there, though I heard good comments. The shuttle ride was great! Take advantage of the shuttle, a party bus or limo! You get there much faster. Be ready and in the lobby by 5:45. I highly recommend Days Inn Great Lakes!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike S, Manager at Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Amy P, Congratulations on your new Navy Grad! We are thrilled you enjoyed all of our Navy friendly amenities, clean rooms and hospitality. Coming to Chicago from Georgia I'm sure was a hard trip to make in JANUARY! We appreciate your kind thoughts and we are honored that you had a great experience! Warmest regards, Mike and Days Inn Great Lakes Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    89
    84
    103
    105
See reviews for
315
29
42
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Carrie was extremely helpful and friendly and clearly enjoys her job. The hotel can definitely use updating, it's somewhat shabby and dated in spots. Our room was clean, albeit small (my own fault for making a late reservation), and I did have a problem with our room keys having to be reset once every day (at first we thought we were demagnetizing them, but found out later our room and another have this problem constantly). The shuttle staff was great, too, and that part was well organized. Note re: the shuttle, there is a cost to/from the graduation per person, nominal but we weren't aware of it at first. Naval graduates can return with you on the shuttle to the hotel free of charge. Our room was done by the time we returned from graduation, a nice surprise. It is about 45 minutes to an hour to downtown Chicago, but the driving is direct and fairly straightforward. Also allow for traffic at the 90/190/294 interchanges, it can build up miles back. There is no mass transit to speak of, so you will definitely need a rental car to access activities, restaurants, etc. Overall, the stay was decent. Thank you, Carrie, for making our stay so pleasant, and for recommending the Full Moon across Route 41; we had several good meals there.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If your son or daughter is graduating from Great Lakes Naval Base, do not be fooled by the proximity of the Days Inn to the Base when making your decision. Yes it may be the closest, but it is far from anything I expected. At least 1000 sailors graduate every week from the Naval Base and the Days Inn is always fully booked. They are making money hands over fist and yet to make any upgrades or improvements to the hotel. It is more like a two story motel. Walking into the hotel you would think you were walking into a hotel from the 70's. I'm not talking a "retro" look but as in it hasn't been updated since 1970. You pay when you check in, not when you check out. I have never stayed in a hotel that has ever done that. Maybe because people are so disappointed with the Hotel they leave and don't pay. There are many other hotels near by that you may want to choose. The base is accessible from anywhere in Great Lakes. I have stayed at campgrounds better and more efficient then this Days Inn. I am EXTREMELY disappointed in this hotel! It also wasn't the cleanest in the world, and if you want to take a nice shower good luck with no water pressure. Only positive was the staff was polite and nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Clean, convenient and close to the base. The staff is very, very helpful. The front desk lady Carrie made me feel very comfortable the entire time! They helped me find taxis, order in and gave me info about the area. If you're ever going to a graduation on base, they have a shuttle that takes you to the ceremony and brings you back. When I stayed, the shuttle was actually a limo.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we arrived a little early and the desk clerk welcomed me and my family. checked to see if our room was ready and it was, he let us check in early. our room we awesome, clean, smelled good. the limo shuttle was great, the breakfast was delicious, and they had an area for our family to hang out. i will recommend this hotel to everyone. thank you days inn for everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hectorR880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Chicago
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
110 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago

Property: Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
Address: 3000 N Skokie Hwy, Corner of Rt.41 & Buckley Road., North Chicago, IL 60044-1193
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > North Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE THE CLOSEST HOTEL TO GREAT LAKES NAVAL TRAINING CENTER. 1 MILE. We offer an incredible customer focused staff, upgraded rooms with new linens, beds, and carpet. We take pride in our hotel at Days Inn. Come in and take a look for yourself! WE OFFER COZY AND COMFORTABLE 1 KING, 2 QUEEN, OR JACUZZI SUITE ROOMS. COME ENJOY OUR COMPLIMENTARY CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING. PLEASE NOTE OUR ENTIRE HOTEL IS NON SMOKING. ALL ROOMS HAVE BEEN RENOVATED AND UPGRADED. OUR KING ROOMS HAVE A FULL SIZE DESK WITH WORK LAMPS. OTTOMAN, AND WORK TASK CHAIRS. COME ENJOY OUR MODERN LUXURIOUS NEW LOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Great Lakes - n. Chicago Hotel North Chicago
Days Inn North Chicago
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago North Chicago, Lake County, IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing