We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Atmosphere, Great Service, Improved Food!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oak Street Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #20 of 38 Restaurants in North Aurora
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun Atmosphere, Great Service, Improved Food!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My husband and I visited Oak Street with friends soon after the restaurant opened. Things were a little "off," and we weren't all that impressed. For example, my grilled chicken was greasy, the server got our order mixed up, etc. We didn't write the place off, but we were overall disappointed. HowEVER, I'm writing this review now because things have since changed for the better!

A friend suggested we meet there for drinks and appetizers, so we joined her. We were impressed then, and we now visit frequently (on our own or with friends). We had been looking for someplace with a lively sports bar atmosphere and tasty food with generous portions; Oak Street delivers. The food is consistently tasty, appetizer selection is large, and service is friendly and fast. One waiter we have frequently remembers our orders and how I always eat the soup that comes with my husband's sandwich! All sandwiches and entrees come with soup -- probably my favorite item on the menu! Super tasty, hot, and definitely homemade.

When you choose Oak Street, keep in mind: if you're visiting a strip mall restaurant with "Bar" in its name, you're going for BAR food, not fine dining, right? Right.

A sidebar comment for hockey fans: Oak Street has become the North Aurora area Blackhawks bar -- on game nights, the bar is full of customers in Blackhawks gear. The ceilings are equipped with red "goal" lights that flash and a goal buzzer that sounds each time the team scores. We go frequently with friends to watch the games on Oak Street's many screens, and its always a lot of fun!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P-Fow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
730 reviews
606 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A fun sports bar with great food.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I went to a baby shower at this restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. I had a grilled chicken sandwich. It was very tender and delicious. It came with a large cup of soup and very tasty french fries. The portions were a good size and the food tasted delicious. The other girls at the shower commented at how good the food was, also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larryd6578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora
2 reviews
“terrible food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

won't ever go back!!! Went because we had a coupon for a free appetizer. The bruschetta wasn't bad, but wasn't prepared like in an Italian Restarurant. Ribs were bland and must have been boiled (overboiled) Prices are ridiculous for the quality of food. The french fries were the worst I have ever had. McDonalds fries are a million times better. The whitefish was extremely bland...........no seasoning. The salad came from grocery store bagged lettuce. Overall the food tasted like Greek diner food. The only good thing was the service. THe waitress was very friendly and attentive, but the food and prices were terrible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Won't be back!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We must have hit two different "off" nights on this restaurant based on the other two reviews. We went there for dinner and had sandwiches, which were just ok, nothing special at all. We decided to go back and try entrees for dinner. What a mistake! The food was just awful and so was the service. We ordered a bottle of wine with our dinner and the server just set the bottle down on our table and walked off. Maybe they are not use to serving wine when the customer orders a bottle?? Both of our dinners were only slightly warm and had no flavor at all. The alfredo sauce looked like cooling gravy, not appealing at all. During the course of our dinner, five other tables sent their entrees back, we did too. The manager seemed to visit all these tables with issues, which was nice. She explained to us that there were some issues in the kitchen. We will not be back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CDDD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDWEST
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Superbly prepared food, helpful waitresses.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We've eaten dinner at the Oak Street Restaurant & Bar three times. The dishes are consistantly very well prepared. The waitresses are there when you need them, but they never rush us when we talk for awhile after dinner. Steaks, fish, pasta, salads, soup, freshly baked warm bread have all tasted great. Furnishings are pleasant. Everything is always very clean. It has become a favorite place for us. Diners include families with kids, couples, groups of friends. Free parking, easy access from the road. There is a bar area that is separate from the dining area. The bar has multiple large tv screens tuned to different sports,and people eat dinner too. Also saw a large private party room.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oak Street Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Oak Street Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing