We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Norridge

“The friendliest bar !”
Review of Edelweiss

Edelweiss
Reserve a Table
2
Fri, 2/28
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Norridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Edelweiss German-American Restaurant is one of Chicago’s favorite German restaurants. It has been a family-owned dining destination for over 30 years. The menu features an impressive array of traditional, well-crafted German specialties along with classics like the American steak, chicken and seafood dishes. A kids menu is also available. We offer 16 beers on tap as well as a variety of craft and international beers, wine and schnapps. Our bar area is an excellent venue to watch sports and play the slot machines while enjoying our daily bar and menu specials.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

"Welcome to Edelweiss" so joyfully announced by Dawn the Hostess will instantly make you feel at home. This classic German restaurant offers traditional and more contemporary cuisine with an American spin on old favorites. The bar offers 12 great tap beers that rotate throughout the year. Anthony, Beata, Matt are the best bartenders anywhere and always offer great suggestions. The bar menu also rotates throughout the year ( I miss the turkey w avocado), the pretzel, potatoes pancakes and sausage platter are always good. The dining room has different ethnic music performers on a regular basis (Johnny Wagner). You can enjoy a leisurely, well prepared meal in a setting that will take you to Germany. The servers are outstanding, very well versed regarding the offerings. Highly recommend a celebration here- birthday, anniversary, any holiday. You will be treated with respect and appreciation for your patronage.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ElleKaye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2020

We went there as a group for our yearly German food outing. Our server was amazing and single-handedly took care of us which wasn't easy with all the half-liters being ordered.

We ordered every appetizer (unfortunately they were out of the cheese curds) and a special shout out for the Hackepeter (their version of steak tartare). The liver dumpling and goulash soups are both very good. My wife had the duck and enjoyed it immensely. I had the Wiener Schnitzel with dumplings and spatzle as my sides (let's face it, we're not coming here for our health). The food was fantastic and there was enough leftover for lunch the next day.

There was also live entertainment playing traditional German music and they came to our table with a gigantic horn and cow bells and you can always use more cowbells.

With Marabels (the greatest goulash ever) and Chicago Brauhaus closed, this is the place to go for German food.

The cons: We had a reservation for 14 at 7 PM and the didn't start putting our tables together until then. We had 14 people blocking the entrance while we waited. As Seinfeld would say "They know how to take reservations, they just don't know how to keep them". Also parking is tight now that the lot across the street is no longer available.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chicagodudejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2020

I had planned to order sausage, which is what I usually order, because I have a strong taste bud for German and Austrian sausage. The server notified me of a goose special that is quite a delicacy. By surprise, it turned out to not only taste better than the sausage but also the most scrumptious goose in the Chicago vicinity. Need I mention, their German Cucumber Salad was out of this world. My only regret was that I failed to save room for dessert.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Four dinners tonight were wonderful! Our server, Josephine, was superb and knowledgeable about the restaurant and the entrees. She offered excellent suggestions and made the meal more entertaining and fun. It was a good celebration with a wonderful meal! Thank you!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alvordsandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019

Edelweiss is an interesting experience - it's an old-time Chicago neighborhood bar crossed with a German restaurant. It makes for an interesting mixture of cultures, but it works! We were there on a Sunday evening, where a live oompah band was performing Oktoberfest-type music, while the Bears were playing football on a big-screen TV. The best of both worlds, right? The biggest plus, though, was the food - excellent German appetizers, entrees, soups, and an extensive German beer list. Service was slap-on-your-back friendly and attentive. Not fancy or showy, but a fun time with delicious food, served in ample portions. Highly recommend the potato pancakes, sauerbraten, and spaetzle.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teresita_Herndon_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing