We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not visually appealing”
Review of Rex Italian

Rex Italian
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Norridge
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not visually appealing”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I went into this establishment today seeing DDD had been there. However I was not at all impressed with the food. The buffet style food looked like a typical buffet. The food looked dry and not appealing. I resigned myself to getting a Italian Beef sandwich. Which was truly just a roast beef sandwich with very little meat. The roast beef was nothing special and the beef juice was not a very good. Tasted more of bell peppers then a good blend of spices. When I mentioned that it was really just a roast beef sandwich I was spoken to like I had no clue what I was talking about. I would never go back and would never refer it to another person. The ceiling needs work as well. Tiles missing, water spots on many of the tiles, however the open tiles near the counter is in my opinion a health hazard. The glory days of this place seem to be behind them.

Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
257 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Finally tried it, excellent”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I always heard about this place but let the strip mall location and lack of "bling" persuade me not to go. We went with a groupon and it was great. Im so upset that I waited so long to get in here. The good and service were excellent. It is a deli type set up so there is not a lot of seating, going with a bigger group might be an issue. Lunch or early dinner will not disappoint and you can bring stuff home with you from the deli.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Italian family food!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped in Rex's after we saw it on DDD. Wow were we glad we stopped! They have a huge variety of food from salads to pastas to deserts and even fresh meats in the deli to take home! The food was authentic homemade and tasted fantastic! Even better was the atmosphere. We started talking to people and before we knew it it was like we were treated like family. They have tons of food to choose from, samples to tempt your taste buds and great people working there that made the entire visit awesome! We are planning to go back to Chicago and definately make a stop at Rex's!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic fresh Italian food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Brought the kids for Sunday lunch. Had the artichoke foccacia and polenta. Themarinara sauce on the polenta was delicious and the polenta was velvety smooth. Hubby had chicken prostada also delicious and huge. Kids had stracciata (sp?) Which is like a calzone but too delicate and delicious to describe. We took calzones and leftovers home for dinner. They also have frozen foods to take home. A must try for authentic Sicilian specialties. Was featured on triple D.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank illinois101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian Delis around”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Rex has a wide variety of prepared meals and deli meats. They have a sandwich type item which is unbelieveable...I think it was the panzerotti. I also took home a couple of calzones which are a great value at 3.99 each. There are always free samples and a ton of homemade pastas and sauces if you want to grab something for dinner at home. This is always a good stop if you're near o'hare and want some great Italian food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimJ321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rex Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing