We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington Normal
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is ideally located, but somewhat hidden from the main road. The front desk was very accommodating and very welcoming. My room was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. This hotel is right off the main street, in close proximity to shops and restaurants. I highly recommend this hidden gem!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnell H, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington Normal, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so pleased to hear that you had such a pleasant stay and that you found our location so convenient for your needs. We hope to see you back soon at the Bloomington/Normal Courtyard by Marriott the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
10
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, IL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Recently spent two nights at the Courtyard in Normal. This is a very typical updated Courtyard hotel. The lobby is large and inviting and includes a cafe that serves breakfast and some lighter lunch/dinner items. Our room, a King on the first floor, was clean, updated and comfortable. The staff was great! I found them to be friendly and anxious to help. I stay at a lot of Courtyards. I would say that this is one of my favorites. Great value, too. I don't think that you can go wrong staying here. Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnell H, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington Normal, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and your stay! Guest satisfaction is our main priority and when a guest says our staff was great and that we are one of their favorite Courtyards, it really helps us to know that we are on the right track! We hope to see you back soon and thank you again for taking time to write such a thoughtful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I am from Fort Collins Colorado and recently moved to Chicago for art school. I bought a ticket to a concert at the US Cellular Coliseum not knowing exactly how far it was from the city! Panicked when I finally got there, my friend and I were in need of a place to stay for the night. A man named Sebastian happened to be working the front desk and was exactly the person that we needed. He had information on all kinds of public transportation, including AMTRAK advice, as well as directions to the US Cellular and so much more. He was so pleasant and kind, had great eye contact and voice volume, and made our experience at your hotel so pleasant. We are very thankful for employees like Sebastian anywhere, but they are not easy to come across. You have a very special person on your team and we'd like to make sure he's recognized.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaleyAbrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnell H, General Manager at Courtyard Bloomington Normal, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful compliment on our employee! Here at the Bloomington Normal Courtyard we strive to make sure our guests have top-notch service and it is always a pleasure to hear that our staff made that happen! I sincerely hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a clean basic hotel with updated lobby and very friendly staff. Although breakfast isn't included, there is free Wi-Fi throughout property. I preferred the free Wi-Fi over breakfast anyway. Since this was a last minute business trip, I think I was given an accessible room based on availability. The room is fine, but it's awfully dark. And the hot water in the shower is not very hot. This may also be due to the fact that it's an accessible room.

Staff is very friendly and the property is clean. I have no complaints and would recommend this for anyone looking for a simple, affordable, basic room with easy access to local Bloomington attractions.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Albert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnell H, Manager at Courtyard Bloomington Normal, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and kind words about our staff. My apologies for the inconveniences you experienced with the lighting and hot water; I want to assure you that these issues have been addressed We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as what we are doing right. We hope with our continued efforts to improve, you will keep the Bloomington/Normal Courtyard in mind next time you stay in the area.
Sincerely
Donnell Hoeniges
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend. Very nice people and service staff. Had a slight issue, but the Manager, Donnell took care of it. Will be back next year.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank anejo1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Why is it that as hotels move up in quality and price, they offer fewer amenities? Courtyard is a prime example. A stay at Marriott's lower quality chain, Fairfield Inn, includes free breakfast. Spend more to stay at a Courtyard and you have to pay for breakfast.

My recent stay at Courtyard in Normal, IL was very nice. Friendly staff and a quiet, clean room. The pool was nice too. But I forgot when I booked that Courtyard doesn't provide breakfast. There is a restaurant on-site, but it's not cheap.

If you are budget minded, it would pay to stay at a slightly cheaper hotel.

One small gripe...there were four of us, but our room only had three sets of towels. We stopped by the front desk to get another set, but nobody was there. Finally ended up grabbing a couple towels from the pool area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PilotOne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night from Friday to Saturday. Other than the check in process being a little slow do to several people in line in front of me, everything was great. I couldn't hear the people in the room next to me which was good. I'll stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

Room Tip: I had a room with a balcony. It wasn't much of a view, but is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
2.0 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 11 in Normal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington Normal

Property: Courtyard Bloomington Normal
Address: 310 Greenbriar Dr Ste A, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-2551
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington Normal 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located in the Bloomington, Il area. The Courtyard Bloomington Normal is the perfect hotel for the business traveler and for your leisure stay. We offer free Wi-Fi and also offer a pool, The Bistro breakfast and dinner bar, fitness center, business center and meeting space. Our Normal, Il location is within minutes of: Illinois State University, State Farm Insurance, Country Financial Insurance and Mitsubishi Motor Manufacturing of America headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bloomington Normal Hotel Normal
Courtyard Normal
Normal Courtyard
Normal Marriott
Courtyard Bloomington Normal IL - Bloomington-Normal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing