We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different taste on the ice crram parlor”

Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Normal, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A different taste on the ice crram parlor”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is so cute...Good music, great service, and pretty good ice cream. My children like going there and the times I have went, it jhas bee a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“nothing to brag about”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We visited the other night. We tried each of two flavors of sorbet, both were good. I ordered two scoops, which turned out to be a much larger serving than expected, I could not finish it all.
In all, the ice cream was good, but nothing special.
although they serve coffee and coffee drinks, they did not have decaf coffee.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azsuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my second trip to Emack and Bolio's and I was thrilled both times. The coffee is fresh and flavorful, the ice creams are what I would term 'craft ice cream', kind of like craft beers - locally made, fresh and new flavors, lots of great flavor and interesting variety. Certainly worth a stop when in uptown Normal. If you are there with a pet, it is dog friendly in the outdoor courtyard, with a special drinking fountain just for their four legged customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLuchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice suprise”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We weren't planning on ice cream, but it was a very hot day and we are glad that E & B's was there! There was a nice selection. The hot fudge was as good as it gets. The only drawback is that it was a little pricey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_S_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great ice Cream!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The ice cream here is fabulous. There's a variety of flavors and you can get low fat and yogurt options. They also serve coffee, shakes and teas. If you want lots of stuff on your icecream they are happy to oblige. The new patio is dog-friendly with a water fountain designed for your dog of all sizes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Telkontar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream also viewed

Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 
Bloomington-Normal, IL
 

Been to Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing