We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ice Cream!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream

Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great ice Cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The ice cream here is fabulous. There's a variety of flavors and you can get low fat and yogurt options. They also serve coffee, shakes and teas. If you want lots of stuff on your icecream they are happy to oblige. The new patio is dog-friendly with a water fountain designed for your dog of all sizes.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Telkontar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of Heaven in Uptown Normal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I admit it, I am an ice cream addict. But I am also finicky about the ice cream I eat. I am here to tell you that this is possibly the best ice cream I have ever had. High fat content, rich with flavor, and perfect creamy texture. It is the real deal. Plus, they have enough flavors to make the wonderful counter employees crazy while you stand and decide which one to choose (I ended up with a double scoop after narrowing it down)!

Cute ambiance, very nice, patient staff, make it a must go-to place while visiting your Illinois State student. Going down there this weekend and my mouth is watering with anticipation!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mladytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice way to end your day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Took the family to Emack and Bolio's in Uptown Normal for desert. It was our first time there and had a great experience. Great ice cream with a nice environment and excellent service.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Msullivan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent ice-cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Might just be the best ice cream I've ever had. Overly generous portion. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chimi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ATTACK!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

My birthday gift to my brother was a promise to team up with him to take down the Emack Attack Sundae...and I may have enjoyed the present more than him!! The Attack is a $35 sundae that includes one scoop of all the ice cream flavor (approx. 25 scoops) and a couple spoonfuls of every topping offered. Needless to say it is A LOT of ice cream and it takes two or more very determined people to finish it, but you get a chance to taste every ice cream if you move quickly and don't let it melt down to much. I loved the majority of the flavors...especially the Oreo Cookie and the Heaven flavors. The only downfall was the Rum Raisin...it was an unpleasant surprise hidden at the bottom of the sundae...I don't recommend it.

Overall, the ice cream parlor offered a wide variety of treats and I would like to go back and enjoy a few more flavors on their own. They also offer numerous smoothies, coffee drinks, and chocolate treats...all of which sounded delicious.

If you are up for a challenge and make an effort to try all the flavor carefully, you will not be disappointed with the Emack Attack!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank got3jacks2nines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream also viewed

Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 
Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 

Been to Emack & Bolio's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing