We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Affordable, and professional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel and this last time was the best. Staff was friendly and professional. I had requested cots in my 3 rooms and they weren't there when we arrived and without asking, they comped that additional charge of the cots. The only negative I have is the hair dryer wasn't working. The breakfast is also good for the price.

Room Tip: They have only double beds, so request a cot if there is more than 2 people to a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MindyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

March 17, 2014

MindyB77,

Dear Mindy- Thank you for your review! We are very lucky to have your continued business with us throughout these past few years! Everything has to go correctly (or at least try) in order for guests to leave satisfied with the service and amenities provided to them. I am happy to hear that this last stay was "the best".

I am particularly pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the items offered at breakfast - our breakfast currently operates without a Class C food license. Until we obtain our license next month, I cannot serve any items that require to be refrigerated, or that are not pre-packaged. So I am happy that you were satisfied with the variety of items that we were able to provide for breakfast during this time.

Also, I want to thank you for the comments you left with our corporate company, Vantage Hospitality! I was notified by our guest relations department and I was so happy to hear these compliments! Going through our ownership/management transition has been a headache at times - it is definitely nice to start hearing some good feedback after this transition.

I look forward to seeing you again next year - Thank you!

Sincerely,

Dan Rust
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 244 of 244 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2014

Should have read reviews prior to stay. Sheets were thin and nearly worn out. Room was filthy. Carpets had stains that could have been taken care of, window had pizza? smeared on the it, door was shiny with grease and who knows what. Bathroom was awful, gross, dirty tile and grout. Chair for desk was broken.Wall paper was patched. It was also freezing in the room. It obviously hadn't been rented in a long time and the heat was off. Heater was noisy. The location of the hotel was also a bit out of the way. Breakfast was a joke. Pool was out of order.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Nikki L,

I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel.

We are working diligently to bring our property up to better conditions. I am sorry your room was not up to better standards for your stay. During the winter months, it is very important to have heat in our guest rooms while they are vacant and obviously one was missed. I am sorry your room was cold upon your arrival.

I inherited the management of this hotel in January 2014 and have had many things to prioritize. I can report that since your stay with us, all of our guest rooms have had new PTAC units installed (no more noisy heaters), and new sheets and linens(no more thin sheets).

Currently, our hotel offers a typical continental breakfast found in most economy segment hotels - we currently offer a variety of breakfast juices and fresh fruit, coffee, tea, variety packs of oatmeal, and a variety of muffins and danishes. Besides our pool renovation, our kitchen and breakfast area are also being renovated. Until our renovation is complete (April 2014), our hotel operates without a class C breakfast license. This means that we cannot serve any items that need refrigerated, and only pre-packaged items. Until our license is obtained, I cannot serve milk, bagels, toast, or hot waffles.

To further address the issues you mentioned with your room - we are aware of many of them. The hotel has aged and it shows in some areas- as maintenance was not very good under the previous management. I have lined up a professional window cleaning company to clean all of our windows this spring. (indoors and outside) We also will be remodeling 5-10 rooms a time until all of our rooms are more comfortable to our guests. Our pool will also be new and lively.

Until our renovations are complete, I must offer my apologies to you for those areas under renovation. Come this summer, our hotel will have remodeled rooms, a new pool, and a larger variety of breakfast items. I invite you to visit our hotel after that time if you are in the area again. Mention your name and association to this review, and I will offer you a complimentary free night on us. I know that you will be happy with the improvements made.

Sincerely,

Dan Rust
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Cold shower.
Cigarette burns in bedspread.
'Presents' in toilet.
Dirt on carpet.
Heat that really doesn't work (there was a small portable space heater in room)
Dust on TV.
Dirty phone.
Rust stains by toilet.
No elevators.
Pool out of order.
Old, odor filled carpets.
Ceiling tiles in main hallway in disrepair.
Need I say more?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

February 13 2014

Laurence P.,

I would like to apologize for these experiences you have shared and ask if you could contact me directly at the hotel so that I might have a chance to correct the situation. I am not sure when you stayed at the property and I am interested in finding out, as I do not recall our front desk notifying me of your complaints.

As of January 2014 our hotel has come under new ownership and I am working towards bettering this property. The new owners and I are dedicated to bringing this property back up to better conditions. We have installed new PTAC units in every guest room of our hotel so that the space heaters that were, are no longer. Also, I have received a lump sum of money this week to have our hot water heaters completely replaced, as well as our indoor heated pool. This work will begin by the beginning of next week (FEB 17). We have inherited many issues at this property but I promise you we are working on addressing each one. The ceiling tiles that you noticed in the main hallway might have been down during the time we had a roofing company working on fixing roof leaks. Until I know what day you stayed with us, this is my only guess as to what you are referring to.

As for the cleanliness issues you noticed in your room- In the hotel industry we have no excuses for a guest room not being properly cleaned. As I mentioned earlier, if you would contact me at the hotel I would like to make this up to you so that you don't think we do not care about your experience here.

This property is an older economy hotel and we are aware that some of the rooms need to be updated. We are already working on upgrading 10 rooms at a time with new carpets, bedspreads, curtains, and furniture. I hope that after speaking with me, you might give us another try in the future when our renovations have been completed. I know you would have a better experience and be pleased with our progress.

Hope to hear from you, Regards,

Dan Rust / Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gabriel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Normal
Radisson Hotel Normal
#5 of 12 in Normal
14 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomington Normal
3.8 mi away
Ramada Limited Bloomington
Ramada Limited Bloomington
#15 of 22 in Bloomington
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
4.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington

Address: 6 Traders Cir, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-4142 (Formerly Americas Best Value - University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value - University Hotel Normal
Best Western Normal
Normal Best Western
Best Western University Hotel
Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington IL - Bloomington-Normal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing