We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service in Bloomington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor Customer Service in Bloomington”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Called to book a room for a family funeral was told NO all booked, even asked if anything they could do as thier was other family there. Booked on line for two of the three nights.(why??) When I arrived I asked if any cancellations, to stay for third night, NO. In the mean time other family members had booked 4 rooms at your hotel via phone, when brought that up was told..not at this hotel then I showed the girl the confirmation # she said.. Oh yes, they booked King rooms you have a Queen room.The bed size never mattered to me or the others we had just lost our sister. I did not care about my bed size but you should have wanted to help the customer. I should have been offered whatever you had. Back to front desk customer service 101 is in order for your front desk staff. A little concern for somone that has had loss would be in order also, they never said sorry for your loss to anyone in our party. No one in my party will stay at this location again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sherbi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi and thank you for the comments. From the entire team, our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family at the loss of your loved one. Times such as these can be trying and we DO extend heartfelt expressions of sympathy. We in the service industry appreciate the feedback and while many suggest feedback such as yours be limited to in-house conversations rather than a website of this manner, I don't mind as long as it's fair and all parties are heard. I apologize about the miscommunication regarding our not having rooms with two beds as you requested, we have a limited supply of such and on the date in question, there were only kings available. Thanks again and please feel free to contact me personally to discuss the matter further.
-richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    128
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
97
33
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was a great stay overall thanks to Jasmine and the excellent hotel staff taking care of the property. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with many choices. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very spacious. We really had fun as a family. The only downside was a front desk person by the name of Morgan.We had requested a late checkout of 1pm from Jasmine. Morgan said no "you are wrong." She had checked us out of our rooms and argued with me. Finally she agreed to give us new keys to at least get our stuff out. She never bothered to ask us if I wanted copies of the bill. We think she either needs some serious customer service training or should try another profession. Jasmine was the ray of sunshine and will stay in our memory bank.

Room Tip: try to get one with a microwave and refrigerator. It kept our water bottles nice and cold. We also s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautyButterflylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Clean, well- maintained property. Friendly, helpful staff. I was in town for the work week and was pleasantly surprised when your cleaning staff arranged my make up and sink area toiletries. Nice touch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi 'MaryB' and thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to report on your experience. Our stayover cleaning program is just one of the many 'nice touches' my team strives for in ensuring yours is a stellar experience. Safe travels to you and yours and we'll see you again soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I think this is one of the better Hamptons I have stayed in. I always try to stay here when I am in town for business. I especially enjoy the breakfast. The staff is always friendly and helpful. It is also a convenient location for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Many thanks "KathyF" for taking the time to share with the world your experience at our hotel. Safe travels to you and yours and we'll see you soon.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great! Great great great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi "Ed M" and thanks for taking the time to report on your experience with us. Sometimes the best reveiws are short and sweet and we appreciate you recognizing that we are "Awesome!" and "Great"......thanks and safe travels to you and yours...... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We usually like the Hampton Inn. It has a decent breakfast and this location had a great breakfast area. The breakfast servers kept up with the large crowd over this weekend and the food was promptly refilled. Love the coffee and tea bar down in the lobby. We were located on the 4th floor. With regards to the quietness of the room... On Friday night, we had just fallen asleep and the "party" of about 30 people started in the back parking lot. There was a combination of basketballs pounding and kids shouting that contributed to the overall loudness of this particular group. After awhile passed and the noise didn't die down, looked outside and people have their coolers out and lawn chairs spread out. Teens are running the lot around guests parked cars. It was unreal and extremely rude. The front desk was notified and they said they would take care of this and asked me to call back if it didn't quiet down. Well the party eventually died down well after midnight. It is up to the staff to keep other guests under control. I shouldn't have to continually call for some quiet. Saturday night was much quieter than Friday night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHHAPPYDAYHAPPYDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi 'HockeyFamilyFive' and thanks for taking the time to write a review based on your experience with us. Rest assured we do what we are able to remind others to keep noise at a minimum after certain hours and respect others in you 'home away from home'. Sorry y'all had to endure this and thanks again for taking the time to share with the world the comments. We take the good with the not so good and do our best to provide a pleasant experience for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for baseball tournament at NIU and IWU. Location was very convemient. Staff was helpful and courteous. Check-in was very quick and easy. Typical Hampton room, nice lobby and breakfast area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you "William N" for taking the time to report on your recent experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
1.6 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
#6 of 22 in Bloomington
354 reviews
3.0 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Address: 320 S Towanda Ave, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Normal
#1 Green Hotel in Normal
#1 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
first class hospitality in the heart of Central Illinois.Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington/Normal is located within the Shoppes at College Hills just minutes from Uptown Normal, Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Country Financial, State Farm Insurance, and Mitsubishi Motors North American Headquarters. Enjoy convenient access to Interstates 55, 74, and 39. See professional hockey, basketball or arena football at the U.S. Cellular Coliseum or take in a baseball game at the Corn Crib. Watch a classic film on the big screen at the Normal Theater, a restored Art Deco theater. Enjoy live theater in an outdoor Elizabethan-style venue at the annual Illinois Shakespeare Festival at Ewing Manor. Dine at Destihl Restaurant & Brew Works, Joe's Station House, Logan's Restaurant or Flat Top Grille. The Normal area offers a variety of courses for golfers including Highland Park Golf Course and Arnold Palmer's Signature Golf Course, The Den at Fox Creek. Take the kids to the Children's Discovery Museum, Miller Park Zoo or Challenger Learning Center. Tour the David Davis Mansion, the Victorian home of the 19th century U.S. Supreme Court Justice.Relax in one of our 128 guest rooms and suites with 32-inch HD TVs and free high-speed internet access. Finish a presentation for tomorrow’s meeting at the work desk or convenient lap desk. If you’re traveling with family or prefer additional space, reserve a spacious one-bedroom or studio suite. Our fitness center and indoor swimming pool offer the perfect spot to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Normal
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn Normal
Normal Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing