We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in April”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very comfortable bed. I travel with medications that need refrigerated and could not get a dorm fridge for my room though they did offer accomadtions in a staff refridgerator. Just not comfortable putting my meds elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hi 'Brian M' and thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to report on your recent experience with us - we appreciate the 5/5 rating. Though, I apologize that a team member dropped the ball and failed to complete your request of a refrigerator. Rest assured this has been development/coaching issue number 1 with the team recently. Should we ever fall short of your expectations please don't hesitate to contact me personally at any time of the day.
Safe travels to you and yours and enjoy your Spring....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 642 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Rooms very nice and clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was better than other Hamptons we've stayed at. Free wi-fi. Overall, a great deal. The lobby was under renovation when we stayed, but aside from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBMDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Hello "EBMDD" and thanks so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to report on your recent experience. I appreciate your patience with the lobby renovations. We now offer a fresh look with the rest to follow in the next several months. As you say 'value' is important to all travelers these days and thank you for recognizing that you felt this applies to us. Safe travels to you and yours and see you soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here a few times and the rooms have always been clean and quiet. I like being right next to Target in case we need anything. There's also shopping and restaurants within walking distance. We stay here when visiting family. Can't forget the free breakfast! Perfect for our family.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemgo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hi 'Jemgo1'. Thanks so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to complete a review on your recent experience for the world to see. The team is pleased when we receive feedback such as this. Thanks too for your understanding and 'bearing' with us during our renovations as work to make some upgrades. I hope you and your family enjoyed your Easter celebration. Safe travels and see you soon.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Part of the disappointment was that the hotel lobby is being renovated.
Ladders, workers, plastic, boxes of tile stacked, wall paper rolls and raw floors plus construction debris. I have had foot surgery and not walking far at one time. Front entrance to hotel was locked. We had made the reservation at this property due to Hampton Inn reputation, reviews, and internet promotion. Front desk seemed hesitant to accept the promotion even though it was confirmed online. It was eventually accepted but I didnt 'get why' it was promoted but not wanting to be honored. Beds were lumpy. Hate the three small pillow thing that seems to be popular in hotels right now. Breakfast was a big disappointment. Two kinds of scrambled egg-like options, thin frozen sausage patties, and seasoned frozen hash browns. Those were made worse by the lid of the casserole dripping water on the potatoes. Orange juice was what I call orange flavored water, not even as thick as orange ade. I settled on fruit and yogurt. Next year when we meet family for Easter, we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: if you like space, maybe try a studio suite? Our room felt crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to report on your recent experience. I've shared your comments with the team and rest assured we're on it so that we live up to our #1 status. Renovations will be complete soon. Safe travels to you and yours and maybe we'll see you again.
Happy Easter to you and your family......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very friendly staff, good location in center of Bloomington/Normal. Only drawback is that it can be hard to get a reservation. Adding extra words because trip advisor requires at least 200 characters altho I've already said everything I wanted to say.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are quieter (in back of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXRanger75243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thanks much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment on your recent stay with us 'TXRanger75243'. The entire team appreciates your understanding of the renovations going on within the 1st floor - they will be complete soon. Safe travels and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I am originally from bloomington/Normal and still have family there. We normally stay at a different hotel when visiting, but on our trip a couple of weeks ago February 8th thru 10th we found ourselves coming home on an emerency situation and needed a place to lay our heads. Our normal hotel had no vacancies and we found the Hampton Inn. We arrived in the wee hours of the morning and was greeted by a friendly young man who soon hd us on our way to lay our heads.
From our arrival to our departure everything was PERFECT!!! Our room was beautiful.
We are coming home again this weekend March 1st this time for a pleasure visit and we have booked a room again with the Hampton Inn. Thank you so much for making our stay pleasant under a Not so pleasant situation, it really was the light at the end of the tunnel. Looking forward to another wonderful stay this weekend!

Room Tip: The Studio Suites are great for the price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellndee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Hello 'Kellndee', thanks so much for sharing your recent experience with the world. That friendly young man you mention is truly a jewel on our team and he grinned ear to ear after reading your kind words. I trust your follow up experience was just as "PERFECT". Should we ever fall short of your expectations please let me know personally. Sounds as though you've found a new 'home' back in Bloomington/Normal. Safe travels to you and yours and see you again soon.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm staying in the Hampton Inn and Suites Bloomington-Normal on weekly basis for business. The service at the hotel is excellent and caters very well to business travelers. WiFi if free and fast (54Mbps), hot breakfast buffet is included. The location is also great being close to stores and restaurants. Destihl Restaurant & Brew Works is in the same parking lot and serves excellent food. Target and other stores are also very close by. Only downside I have is that the gym equipment is old. This is being rectified though and new equipment is order and will be installed soon.

Service is also excellent, Richard, the hotel manager is extremely friendly and will do anything in his power to make your stay the best it can be. He seems to be there all day, every day. Very dedicated.

All in all, this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: You need to reserve well in advance, the hotel fills up really fast. Try calling the hotel directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDiver_ooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

:-) Thank you so much for the awesome review of your experiences at your home away from home. Feedback such as this is priceless and means the world to us. Should we ever fall short of your expectations, please let me know. Safe travels and see you soon!
-richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
3 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Normal
Radisson Hotel Normal
#4 of 12 in Normal
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#1 of 22 in Bloomington
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomington Normal
1.7 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Address: 320 S Towanda Ave, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Normal
#1 Family Hotel in Normal
#1 Green Hotel in Normal
Price Range: $93 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
first class hospitality in the heart of Central Illinois.Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington/Normal is located within the Shoppes at College Hills just minutes from Uptown Normal, Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Country Financial, State Farm Insurance, and Mitsubishi Motors North American Headquarters. Enjoy convenient access to Interstates 55, 74, and 39. See professional hockey, basketball or arena football at the U.S. Cellular Coliseum or take in a baseball game at the Corn Crib. Watch a classic film on the big screen at the Normal Theater, a restored Art Deco theater. Enjoy live theater in an outdoor Elizabethan-style venue at the annual Illinois Shakespeare Festival at Ewing Manor. Dine at Destihl Restaurant & Brew Works, Joe's Station House, Logan's Restaurant or Flat Top Grille. The Normal area offers a variety of courses for golfers including Highland Park Golf Course and Arnold Palmer's Signature Golf Course, The Den at Fox Creek. Take the kids to the Children's Discovery Museum, Miller Park Zoo or Challenger Learning Center. Tour the David Davis Mansion, the Victorian home of the 19th century U.S. Supreme Court Justice.Relax in one of our 128 guest rooms and suites with 32-inch HD TVs and free high-speed internet access. Finish a presentation for tomorrow’s meeting at the work desk or convenient lap desk. If you’re traveling with family or prefer additional space, reserve a spacious one-bedroom or studio suite. Our fitness center and indoor swimming pool offer the perfect spot to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Normal
Hampton Inn Normal
Normal Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing