We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I Could Have Stayed Longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wish I Could Have Stayed Longer!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday after an ISU alumni weekend, so our room wasn't ready. They called from the front desk immediately called up to housekeeping to let them know we were there. She apologized profusely for the delay. It was no big deal - we opted to wait in the lobby and watched TV while we waited. They were amazingly fast, as we only waited about 15 minutes before they came to tell us that our room was ready.

Our room was amazing!! We had the two room suite, which was huge. Looking at the hotel layout, it looks as though this is the only room like it in that hotel. This room had the standard mini refrigerator, microwave, and wet bar that we always have in the normal king suite. However, this room has an extra large bathroom with both tub and stand alone shower stall, very large bedroom with desk area, (there is another desk in the living room), AND a half bath off the living room! There was so much room to spread out.

The breakfast was great, as is the norm with Hampton Inns It is located in a shopping area with lots of different restaurants that are close by. I also wanted to recognize Gina at the front desk. She was wonderful to work with and very, very nice!! Great first impression when you walk in!

Room Tip: For a group traveling together, there is an adjoining room off of the living room, so a heads up if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to let the world know about your experience. I've shared your comments with the team and specifically Gina. She's a gem and was recently nominated for a Stars of the Industry award for consistently going above and beyond for the guest and fellow team members alike.

Your contributions on Trip Advisor are valuable - keep them coming. And, should we ever fall short of your expectations, please let us know personally.

Safe travels to you and yours and thanks again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    129
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
231
97
33
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Once again, I stayed at The Hampton Inn in Bloomington-Normal and experienced a wonderful stay! This is my 4th time there and the only place in the area I would stay. Super clean, wonderful staff and great location! I even referred it to my father, who stays there now, as well. Looking forward to my next visit in a few months! Thank you all for the wonderful service.

Room Tip: They are all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
"You're Welcome!" Thank you for the recent review regarding your experience at your home away from home. A good bit of our success at being the "Best property in Bloomington-Normal" is tied to our claim that we have the "Best Guests in the World". Each professional on my team looks forward to the opportunity to create a memorable experience for the traveler. We appreciate you and thanks again for taking the time to share your experience with the world. Let us know when you plan a return trip and safe travels to you and yours..... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice during a long weekend trip, and on both occasions we found the front desk staff to be very helpful and the room was as nice as we expected from our stays at other Hampton Inns. The one thing that could have been better was the response time when we called the front desk to request help with a crib we had ordered for our daughter. We eventually figured it out on our own an hour later. Also, be aware that while the hotel is listed as being on Towanda Avenue, the parking lot entrance is actually off Von Maur Drive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoox76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing thoughts of your recent experience. Thanks too for pointing out to other valued guests the more detailed directions should they be entering off of Veterans Parkway in Normal - you're right, VonMaur Drive will get you here a bit quicker. We hope to see you again soon and wish you and your family well.
Safe travels.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed her last year and it was nice this year the staff was exceptional... very friendly allowed us to check in early , the room was spacious and clean this will be out go to hotel when we visit ISU.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank relax62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the recent review after your last visit. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with the world. I, in turn, have shared them with the team. Keep in touch and let us know when you plan a return visit to campus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The service was outstanding. The hotel and our room were really clean. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was much better than expected with many extras including cooked oatmeal (not packaged), scrambled eggs with cheese. The check in was fast and very friendly. We had many family members with us (6 rooms) and everyone commented on how great the facility was. They were very accommidating in having a space for us to gather and visit.

We really enjoyed the next door Bloomington/Normal Constution Trail, a paved walking, running, biking path.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience for the world to see. It means a lot to each team member that you and your family felt at home while gathering together. Creating a memorable experience is priority for our family here at Hampton Inn & Suites - Bloomington/Normal. So from our family to you and yours - we hope to see you again. Safe travels....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had reservations and check-in was less than a minute. The rooms were immaculate. Cleanest I have seen. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was more than we expected. Usually hot breakfast means oatmeal and toast; which they had. They also had eggs with cheese and waffles. Food was fresh. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience for the world to see. I've passed on your detailed comments to each team member who then responded with a big smile. This means a lot to the team as they give their all in providing a memorable experience for each valued guest. We appreciate you and let us know when you plan a return visit to our 'awesome place'. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is a newer one. It is very clean and very nice. The front desk workers were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. The bed was so comfortable and the room was very clean. It was very close to shopping and resturants. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Team Hampton Inn & Suites Normal appreciates you taking the time to write the above review. Your recommendation for the world to see is priceless and it means a lot to us all. Thanks again and safe travels to you and yours......
-richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
1.6 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
Hampton Inn Bloomington West
#6 of 22 in Bloomington
357 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Address: 320 S Towanda Ave, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Normal
#1 Family Hotel in Normal
#1 Green Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
first class hospitality in the heart of Central Illinois.Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington/Normal is located within the Shoppes at College Hills just minutes from Uptown Normal, Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Country Financial, State Farm Insurance, and Mitsubishi Motors North American Headquarters. Enjoy convenient access to Interstates 55, 74, and 39. See professional hockey, basketball or arena football at the U.S. Cellular Coliseum or take in a baseball game at the Corn Crib. Watch a classic film on the big screen at the Normal Theater, a restored Art Deco theater. Enjoy live theater in an outdoor Elizabethan-style venue at the annual Illinois Shakespeare Festival at Ewing Manor. Dine at Destihl Restaurant & Brew Works, Joe's Station House, Logan's Restaurant or Flat Top Grille. The Normal area offers a variety of courses for golfers including Highland Park Golf Course and Arnold Palmer's Signature Golf Course, The Den at Fox Creek. Take the kids to the Children's Discovery Museum, Miller Park Zoo or Challenger Learning Center. Tour the David Davis Mansion, the Victorian home of the 19th century U.S. Supreme Court Justice.Relax in one of our 128 guest rooms and suites with 32-inch HD TVs and free high-speed internet access. Finish a presentation for tomorrow’s meeting at the work desk or convenient lap desk. If you’re traveling with family or prefer additional space, reserve a spacious one-bedroom or studio suite. Our fitness center and indoor swimming pool offer the perfect spot to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Normal
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn Normal
Normal Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing