We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had reservations and check-in was less than a minute. The rooms were immaculate. Cleanest I have seen. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was more than we expected. Usually hot breakfast means oatmeal and toast; which they had. They also had eggs with cheese and waffles. Food was fresh. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your experience for the world to see. I've passed on your detailed comments to each team member who then responded with a big smile. This means a lot to the team as they give their all in providing a memorable experience for each valued guest. We appreciate you and let us know when you plan a return visit to our 'awesome place'. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 643 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel is a newer one. It is very clean and very nice. The front desk workers were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful. The bed was so comfortable and the room was very clean. It was very close to shopping and resturants. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Team Hampton Inn & Suites Normal appreciates you taking the time to write the above review. Your recommendation for the world to see is priceless and it means a lot to us all. Thanks again and safe travels to you and yours......
-richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

It's a Hampton Inn so its the same as all the others - fairly spacious rooms, clean, free breakfast (no better or worse than others). What separated this one was the relaxed yet friendly nature of all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

WOW! Nearly 200 contributions of experiences you've encountered at various hotels worldwide. That's an accomplishment and we are honored to be one of them. Seasoned travelers such as you recognize what separates certain hotels apart and we're happy to have earned kudos in terms of our team's 'relaxed yet friendly nature'.

Thanks and safe travels to you and yours......
-richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and I highly recommend it. The hotel, our suite, and the facilities are clean. Excellent customer service by Richard and his staff! They are friendly and helpful. We asked if we could check in early in the day and they went above and beyond to make it happen. Wish all hotels are managed in the same manner as this Hampton inn. The suites are very spacious and well lit. The beds and pillows were comfortable and they wash the comforter/blanket! The only negative is the fridge did not have a freezer. The continental breakfast was great! Plenty of restaurants in the area. It was a pleasure staying here! Thanks for everything, Richard and staff!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachballonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

The Team and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the world. It was a pleasure having you and providing you with one more memory in all your travels. You are welcome anytime. :-)

Thanks again and safe travels to you and yours......
-richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have to be in Normal, IL for a week every summer and I love staying here. The staff is wonderful, the place us immaculate and they think of every little detail to make you feel at home.

In the morning, there is great variety for breakfast including healthy foods and there is even a sack breakfast if you don't have time to sit down and eat. They also provided everyone with bottled water when it was so hot.

In my room, the cleaning staff takes time to neatly arrange your toiletries on a towel on the bathroom counter and clean every service. If you leave so much as a plastic grocery bag on a table, you will return to find it neatly folded.

At night tea and coffee is available in the lobby at any time. There is a little pantry where you can purchase chips, ice cream or a frozen dinner for the microwave.

I will stay here again and again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank llilly115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments for the world to see. Your title "Better than being home" says it all. The team and I grinned ear to ear after reading that. True enough, when our guests must be away from home we try to make the adjustment an easy one. We recognize the fact that those little details mean a lot further proving we are the best value in the market. Thanks again. See you next summer (if not before) and safe travels to you and yours......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I was in Normal visiting family and my 4 year old granddaughter was going to spend the night with me, so I requested to have a fridge in the room for convenience. I quickly realized that we would need a stool for her to wash her hands and brush her teeth.. I asked the front desk if they had one, but they did not. so we went to a nearbyTarget and bought one. It occured to me that the sink was too far back from the edge of the counter Two queen-sized beds were plenty for us, and we slept comfortably through the night. Breakfast in the morning was delightful, with a nice selection of fruit, cereals, waffles and a choice of skimmed, low fat and whole milk There was decaf and regular coffee. This was in a breakfast area/lounge. There is no restaurant per se on the premises.
If we had more time to spend there, we would have gone swimming,
Overall, the proximity of this hotel to an outdoor shopping mall , assortment of restaurants, and main highways makes this a good choice. I suggested to them that they outfit the bathrooms with step stools. I plan to return within the next few months.

Room Tip: Request a refrigerator, since they are not always available and bring a stool .if you are traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for the great review. I must say the term 'elegant' is a first in describing our award winning property. Though, it's a fitting description as I look back at nearly every review on our hotel. So, why not? After all, we are 'simple', 'ingeniously neat', 'pleasing', 'stylish', 'well designed', and even 'chic' to some both in terms of the physical asset (appearance) as well as the service we provide (behaviors). So, thank you for adding this new term to our long list of enduring qualities.

Your suggestion of adding the step stools is being considered. Families are important and I know that your 4 year old granddaughter appreciates having you visit. Thanks for choosing us and rest assured you will not miss a minute with your family on future visits to the Normal/Bloomington area. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is situated among some great conveniences, like Starbucks and Target, and a number of restaurants. The hotel is clean. The AC worked great, and the complimentary Internet was fast! Breakfast in the morning was also complimentary. I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Team Hampton Inn & Suites Normal appreciates you taking the time to write the above review. Your recommendation for the world to see is priceless and it means a lot to us all. Thanks again and safe travels to you and yours......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
3 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Normal
Radisson Hotel Normal
#5 of 12 in Normal
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Residence Inn Bloomington
Residence Inn Bloomington
#1 of 22 in Bloomington
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomington Normal
1.7 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Address: 320 S Towanda Ave, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Normal
#1 Best Value Hotel in Normal
#1 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range: $93 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
first class hospitality in the heart of Central Illinois.Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington/Normal is located within the Shoppes at College Hills just minutes from Uptown Normal, Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Country Financial, State Farm Insurance, and Mitsubishi Motors North American Headquarters. Enjoy convenient access to Interstates 55, 74, and 39. See professional hockey, basketball or arena football at the U.S. Cellular Coliseum or take in a baseball game at the Corn Crib. Watch a classic film on the big screen at the Normal Theater, a restored Art Deco theater. Enjoy live theater in an outdoor Elizabethan-style venue at the annual Illinois Shakespeare Festival at Ewing Manor. Dine at Destihl Restaurant & Brew Works, Joe's Station House, Logan's Restaurant or Flat Top Grille. The Normal area offers a variety of courses for golfers including Highland Park Golf Course and Arnold Palmer's Signature Golf Course, The Den at Fox Creek. Take the kids to the Children's Discovery Museum, Miller Park Zoo or Challenger Learning Center. Tour the David Davis Mansion, the Victorian home of the 19th century U.S. Supreme Court Justice.Relax in one of our 128 guest rooms and suites with 32-inch HD TVs and free high-speed internet access. Finish a presentation for tomorrow’s meeting at the work desk or convenient lap desk. If you’re traveling with family or prefer additional space, reserve a spacious one-bedroom or studio suite. Our fitness center and indoor swimming pool offer the perfect spot to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Normal
Hampton Inn Normal
Normal Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing