We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

The Garlic Press Market Cafe
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent curry soup, good sandwiches... Just good. It was all good food with a reasonable price. I would eat there again, as it was a heart healthy choice and tasted good. Much better than any chain!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dandlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lucky find ”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling and needed to eat. We like to avoid chains. The Garlic Press came up on Trip Advisor and we are glad it did. The food was fresh and quick, interesting and healthy. I love tomato soup and theirs did not disappoint. And an added bonus is the shop right next to the cafe.

Helpful?
Thank starlakesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality food and quality items”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Garlic press is the best place in town to go for quality kitchen supplies as well as a great lunch spot. The quality of the food is always top notch and they are dedicated to using local ingredients as much as possible. Try the Reuben. Its fantastic!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“friendly and delicious”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A wonderful place to enjoy freshly prepared sandwiches,salads, etc and deserts and then stop in the Garlice Press shop to find all types of cooking utensils , specialty foods , gifts and clothing. Great place in Uptown Normal which is decorated for the holidays. We eat here at least twice a week.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JazzCentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Consistent wonderful food and atmosphere! It has been our monthly date place for a while now. There is always something new to try. The gift shop has many hidden treasures as well.

Helpful?
Thank SAMI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garlic Press Market Cafe also viewed

Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 
Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 

Been to The Garlic Press Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing