We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a little pricy!”

Alexander's Steak House
Ranked #9 of 111 Restaurants in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $55
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Normal, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food but a little pricy!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Haven't been there in awhile but always good quality food when I've been there. Just a little on the high price side as is the reason I don't go there very often. Even when they run ads in the paper it's usually still expensive , Like $35.00 for two people not including tax and tip. If they gave better deals once in awhile may go there more often.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    22
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IL
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“steak and everything else is mediocre”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went to a Christmas party and we were seated promptly but i couldn't believe how expensive it was for very poor quality. The steaks looked good but were not really cooked to order and my filet was neither tender or flavorful. You have to go get your own potato and the salad bar is beyond pitiful.Why pay $80 when you can go the chain competitors nearby for literally half the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor11_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality of the food is terrible!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Had mold on a bun for a child's meal about an inch in diameter. Contacted the company and the manager was suppose to call me - it's been almost two months and nothing. Extremely high priced and obviously the quality of the food is poor. I would NOT go there again - there are plenty of other restaurants in the area with good food and reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible staff”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We had our company Christmas party scheduled there, with reservations at 6:30 pm. At 7:30 pm we still had not been seated with no apology from the hostess. People that were coming in without reservations were being seated. We finally told the hostess to cancel our reservation and left and went to Logans. They seated ys immediately and we had great service, food and the best waiter ever. Alexanders missed out on a $300.+ bill and the waiter at Logans got our$150.00 gratuity. The hostess at Alexanders never even tried to appease us or even apologize, and there was another company there that was still waiting to get seated for their Christmas party that also had 6:30 reservations that were getting ready to leave to as they were still waiting also. Not to count they had us waiting right by the doors where people were coming in and out and we were freezing. Thanks Logans for saving our party and they even gave us free coupons for future as we had told them what happened and they felt bad for our experience even though it was not their restaurant. How cool !!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katydidtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok food not worth price”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Go to a normal steak house. we had them cook it took an hour and 45 min. To get food then it was wrong steak. Just go to a regular steak house and get your money worth

Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Alexander's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing