We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4.5 Stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Medici

Medici
Reserve with OpenTable
Medici is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 120 W. North St
Transit: Medici is located just steps away from the New transportation center in Uptown Normal. A perfect place to meet when guest are arriving from out of town, or when waiting for the next departure.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“4.5 Stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great Drinks. Original menu offerings. Very good food. The outdoor roof deck is a beautiful spot to have lunch. Try this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    93
    45
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Nice Alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Medici in uptown Normal is a nice alternative to the chain restaurants. They offer an eclectic menu that ranges from an andouille sausage queso dip to salmon brulee. I ordered the Moraccan Ragout soup as an appetizer, which is served with ciabatta and cucumber-cilantro yogurt. Yummy. My entree was the BBQ beef brisket served over chili-corn mashed potatoes with grilled green beans on the side - this was also very good. The servers are generally young, but very friendly and attentive. My only complaint about visiting Medici is the parking. What a nightmare in uptown.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauntona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“College Town experience. Not so much.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Two visits in three days. One for drinks, with a large group. Most commented that mixed drinks were watered down. Service was slow.

Dinner on a Saturday night, with reservations. Server came to table after a little too long (two minute rule is in most steps of service). Introduced himself, said he was training someone. Poor her. Worst training experience ever. We asked for a minute to review menu. That minute turned into 5. Were told specials, and then "poof", they left. Waited.....finally placed order. Food came, it was a lottery. "who had the steak?" there were only three of us, please use position numbers. No one checked on us. I had to ask for check. Lackluster on many levels. Will not return. Believe me, I wanted to like it. It's a beautiful space, but meh on service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a neat place, The food is good too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The design is cool. With a full tree inside. The deck is awesome. The beer list is spectacular. If your in town. Go here.
You wont be sorry

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ffmunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Improving...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are so fortunate to have the quality ambience and wine/beer selections found at Medici.
From appetizers/drinks to lunch/dinner, work parties, and wedding receptions, we have enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor spaces to socialize. Another reviewer mentions that the food has improved, and while we agree, it still remains hit or miss across the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heartland07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medici also viewed

 
Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 

Been to Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing