We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay at Villa Sampaguita in Piemonte”
Review of Villa Sampaguita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Sampaguita
Ranked #1 of 1 Valleandona B&B and Inns
Stavanger
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay at Villa Sampaguita in Piemonte”
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We have returned after 2 weeks in Italy. We arrived in Valpensa, Milano on the night of June 22nd. We went by car and arrived a little late at the Villa after spending extra time in searching for the farm. We shall never forget the warm welcome by the owners Rina and Tim, waiting for us with dinner, dessert and fantastic wines in the garden. We felt at home that very evening. The room and bath was nice and sizeable. The atmosphere at the farm was top and ideal for recharging "batteries". The place is also in a perfect area for taking daily trips to several attractions. Tim, the owner had several suggestions and maps to help us.
We spent 4 wonderful nights there and as I told the owners, we will love to come back.

Regards
Tor Henriksen, Norway

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TorGunnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    36
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
126
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2007

We had a terrific experience here. Several things stand out:
1. Tim's own wine that he shared with us on arrival was heaven.
2. Rina helping us out with some much needed laundry.
3. Ideas on what to see and where to eat were excellent - only outdone by the directions which made finding them easy.
4. The room was clean, cool, and inviting.
5. Scrambled eggs in the morning with fresh eggs from the farm.
We'll go back on our next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonStateElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2007

4 of us arrived in the Villa Sampaguita after already having spent 3 fabulous days in Lake Como. We didn't really know what to expect. We were met by Rina and given a warm and relaxed welcome - this set the tone for the next 3 days. The bedrooms were wonderful - spotlessly clean with fluffy towels and real soap and shampoos. Each room had a insect screen and fan which was much needed in July. There was a communal computer with free internet access and a TV with satellite which allowed us to keep up with live Wimbeldon (a nice bonus)!
We had pre-booked dinner and it was fantastic. We sat outside adn Rina effortlessly arrived at our table with course after course of homemade food. Much of the menu came from her own garden. Tim's homemade redwine accompanied the meal and there was more wine on hand with an honesty box system if we were still thirsty! Tim provided invaluable information and advice about the surrounding area and arranged a wine tasting with wineyard in Barolo - fab! All in all I wouln't hesitate in recommending Villa Sampaguita to anyone.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — mosquitos!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disneyvirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2007

We just returned from Italy and spend three wonderful days at the Villa Sampaguita. It's a marvelous place and Tim and Rina are terrific hosts. They made us feel like old friends. The Villa itself is full of character and spotlessly maintained. But the real attractions are Tim and Rina. Tim is a wonderful host and has excellent advice on touring the area. Rina is a charming hostess and a great cook. Don't miss one of her dinners. Piedmont itself is beautiful and relatively unspoiled. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My husband and I spent almost 3 weeks in May 2007 - one week in a rental villa in Sinalunga in Tuscany and the rest of the time in Liguria and Piemonte. Our 3 day stay at Villa Sampaguita was the highlight of our trip. Both my husband and I loved it.

As others have mentioned, Tim and Rina are exceptionally kind, lovely
people. When we arrived, we were greeted by Rina and after settling in our room, we spent awhile chatting with her. She instantly made us
feel at home.

Rina's meals (both breakfasts and dinners) are really delicious, and we looked forward to breakfast each day. Tim is a true wealth of knowledge about the local areas and he spends time with his guests to help them plan an itinerary for the day.

In fact, when booking our stay, Tim asked me what I was interested in seeing or doing in the area. I replied that I was interested in learning about certain folkloric beliefs of the Langhe area as I am planning to write about this. Tim then pre-arranged an interview for me during my stay with the gentlemen who organizes a mid-August festival in the town of Sinio celebrating these folkloric beliefs. I have never had a host go to such lengths for me! I was truly amazed and so grateful.

We stayed in the Nebbiolo room at Villa Sampaguita and it could not have been more perfect - lovely furnishings, spacious bathroom, French doors opening to a balcony with a view of the hills to the South. And the price of our stay was very reasonable.

I loved Villa Sampaguita so much that I have just finalized my plans to return in mid-August for an entire week, to explore more of the area, attend the folkloric festival in Sinio and to simply enjoy more
of Tim and Rina's wonderful hospitality.

  • Liked — Everything - the room, the food, the location and the hosts were all excellent
  • Disliked — There was nothing I did not like about it.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Losna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Just stayed 4 nights with Tim & Rina at their wonderful B & B. Could
not have been more pleased. Great location, clean, and spacious accommodations. Stayed in their 2 bedroom apartment. Breakfast supplied by Rina was more than adequate and was very good. Tim & Rina
do everything possible to make you feel at home. Also attended a cooking lesson which was fun. They can arrange local tours for you if you don't have a car. We had a car/driver for 2 days and covered different areas. Guide was terrific. Highly recomment Villa Sampaguita.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrudyTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

Marc and I wanted to avoid the towns and stay in a B&B on our first visit to the vineyards of Italy. We chose Villa Sampaguita near the town of Asti (of Spumante fame) in the Provence of Piemont…. Or rather: Tuscany without the Tourists. It is a little west of Tuscany , but to put you in the picture, imagine the same landscape. The owners are a mixed bag: Tim is British and Rina is originally from the Phillipines, but both have traveled the world extensively. After a cursory look at the winegrowing areas of Australia, they eventually decided to set up home in Italy . Tim tends his precious vineyards and Rina looks after the house that has been painstakingly renovated and turned into a beautiful B&B. Lots of attention to the little details that make the difference between an OK stay ... and a great one. Being Aussies, the relaxed atmosphere suited us and on the second night Rina and I let the boys go to their respective beds, while we stayed up till the early hours drinking red wine and having a wonderful girly chat….. something I’ve been missing terribly. It was a great pick-me-up. We look forward to returning in the future.
Janelle & Marc

  • Liked — Beautiful--- great attention to detail in all areas
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valleandona
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lis
Hotel Lis
#1 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#2 of 18 in Asti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Castello di Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Casa Celeste
La Casa Celeste
#4 of 41 in Asti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast La Valle
8.9 mi away
Relais Villa Pattono
Relais Villa Pattono
#3 of 41 in Asti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sampaguita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sampaguita

Property: Villa Sampaguita
Address: Frazione Valleandona 117, 14100 Valleandona, Asti, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti > Valleandona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valleandona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sampaguita is close to Asti, the ideal location for touring Piedmont's famous wine country and near Turin, Milan, Lake Maggiore, Liguria & Val d'Aosta. Make our beautifully restored old farmhouse B&B your home away from home, and share our love of Italy's finest wine and food region (plus lots of culture too). We also have self-catering apartments suitable for families and we organize tours for small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Sampaguita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing