We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Style Food; Fair Experience”
Review of White Eagle

White Eagle
Ranked #12 of 156 Restaurants in Niles
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Family Style Food; Fair Experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We at Przybylo's White Eagle restaurant this afternoon, on Saturday, June 29, 2013. We went for unfortunate circumstances though. We buried our grandfather at St. Adalbert cemetery earlier in the day. We have eaten at White Eagle before, but it has been a while since then. We had mashed potatoes, beef, meat pierogies, green beans, polish sausage, chicken, noodles, mushroom barley soup, bread, and Filbert's Chicago soft drink products. I thought the food tasted ok, especially the mushroom barley soup and the meat pierogies. Both were outstanding! The only problem is it seemed each item I tried was excessively salty. Unsure of the pricing though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steelchess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Genoa City, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very generous and very good family style meal”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We live in WI now so it has been some time since we ate at this Polish restaurant across from St. Adelberts Cementary. What a delicious comfort food extravaganza. Beef, chicken, sausage, kraut, noodles, mashed potatoes and dessert all for one price. The mushroom barley soup and rye bread are in a class all their own, that alone could have been my meal. The bread is old world style with a crusty outside and tender delicious inside, yum! I usually don't like mushrooms but this is the perfect blend. Along with taking our meal remains home, we stopped in the deli and bought more soup, bread, pierogis and cake to take home to our family. Our grandchildren devoured the soup and leftover beef with mashed potatoes and we still have other dishes leftover. What a terrific value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GCWItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good to go”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Anytime we stop at the cemetery across the street, our group usually stops at the restaurant afterwards. This time, the outing was too early and White Eagle was not yet open, so had to go elsewhere for breakfast, then some other stops. On the way back, not hungry but knew they did carryout, so stopped. The carryout is ordered right at the gift shop counter. They package the same family style meal one would get in the restaurant, including the roast beef, polish sausage, chicken, pierogi, mashed potatoes, kluski into a carryout container. Then they add several slices of their delicious rye bread all wrapped up. I got one carryout for each member of the family, and we easily got two meals out of each. The mushroom barley soup was extra--I bought a quart which was enough for the three of us. Very happy they have the carryout available, not only for the family style meals but also for other specific items on their menu including some of the other meat items such as golabki and some of the pastries like the kolachki, and babkas. Very good. Glad we stopped back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripmajik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it was”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have eaten many times at the White Eagle both in the banquet halls after funerals and in the restaurant. So my husband and I looked forward to dinner there last week. The soup was wonderful. We shared a bowl of the mushroom barley (thick and rich although the mushrooms were scarce) and a bowl of the czarnina (dark and sweet with plums). This is the only restaurant I know of that serves czarnina, a Polish specialty not to be missed.

Unfortunately the rest of the family style meal was disappointing. The polish sausage tasted like baloney, the perogi were stuffed with tasteless pasty meat or overly sweetened cheese, the liver in the liver and noodles dish consisted of a few dark specs, the sauce on the gołabki was straight out of a jar of Ragu, and the mixed vegetables came out of a can (one of those huge ones you can buy at Costco) heated up in a microwave. I remember when the food was cooked by little old Polish ladies in the kitchen. Now it merely consists of opening up some cans and nuking the contents. We did not have any dessert so I have no comment on that.

Oh, the goulash was good with nice chunks of beef in a tasty sauce which my husband sopped up with the rye bread. The bread was okay but no different from what you can buy at the grocery store.

If we go back it will be just soup and a big salad.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swayz219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“delicious Polish food”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family has eaten here at Easter, Thanksgiving, funerals and weddings in the banquet room and as individuals in their restaurant. The Polish feast is served family style in the restaurant and you get to take home leftovers. Fantastic soups, tender pierogies, meats cooked just right and tasty pastries. When our out-of-town relatives visit the Chicago area, they always request a visit to the White Eagle. Better yet, their prices are very reasonable. Go here when you are really hungry. The White Eagle is a family run business and the Pryzbylo family is usually on site to insure you enjoy your visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Eagle also viewed

 

Been to White Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing