We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Italian restaurants we have been to on the north shore”
Review of La Tavola Trattoria - CLOSED

La Tavola Trattoria
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
1 review
“One of the best Italian restaurants we have been to on the north shore”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Outstanding food. Amazing service. All around great place to have a wonderful meal at very fair prices. Comfortable atmosphere. Don't know why its not jammed with people waiting to get a table. Will be going back very soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't be fooled by the nondescript exterior. This is a superior Italian restaurant. The atmosphere is casual but the food and service are first class. The service is extremely friendly and attentive but not the least bit intrusive. Mario is a very charming host. The pasta is homemade and the chef's preparations are varied and delicious. The roast duck in particular is excellent. This is one of our favorite restaurants in all of Chicago's north suburbs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Capriccios menu in a more homey atmosphere”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were very sad when capriccios in northfield closed. The Montiel bros have reopened in Niles under a new name. The menu is similar and the still make their own fresh pasta. My favorite is the lobster ravioli in cream sauce. Portions are good and prices are reasonable and everyone is very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DKP8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service and staff is very attentive.”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Overall I would recommend. I went there with my Mom for dinner and the staff was very attentive. I had the risotto and it was very good. I would definitely order it again. My Mom had the special which she said was good. Went there on a Friday and they had live music in dining room. The band was very good and wasn't too loud so you can still talk. I definitely say you should try it out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This restaurant is being run by the previous owners of Capricio's in Northfield, IL. They have the same wonderful food and service. I also like the valet parking feature.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tavola Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing