We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Aureli
Nearby Hotels
$69
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Perugino Hotel(Corciano)(Great Value!)
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Centova(Perugia)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Meridiana(Perugia)
$85
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arte Hotel(Perugia)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$108
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
13
3
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
3
0
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 17 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at VIlla Aureli for two weeks, in the second floor flat. The place is simply amazing. It represent the perfect combination between the charme of a country mansion with the beauty of an unspoiled treasure that perfectly blends in the Umbrian landscape. When we told them that we are planning to come back in the summer, the owners allowed us to visit all of the flats. Each one has its charme and is cured to the detail. The ones in Adolfo's house do not feature the wonderful 18th century decorations, but they are more cosy (and cheaper!). The Villa is close to Peurgia and all its facilities, but the landscape around it is astonishingly preserved. We also had a great time to visit the wine cellars in Montefalco and try the excellent restaurants in the srroundings of the villa.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivandpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We rented the “Second Floor Apartment” in the Villa Aureli for the week of 19-26 September 2009. We were delighted with our stay in this historic and beautiful villa. The second floor apartment also includes a spacious reception hall on the first floor. All in all it seemed we had about 2,000 square feet of living space, featuring antique furniture, hand-painted tiles on the floors and trompe l'oeil painting on the walls and ceilings. If you enjoy living as an 18th century Italian noble, you will love Villa Aureli. The apartment has many windows and (dare I say) French doors with balconies overlooking the Italian Garden, with views down the Lime tree alley, and views of the Umbrian hills in the distance. Free-range chickens and sheep in pasture made a pastoral and relaxing vista. The steep steps to the second floor (US third floor) were a minor obstacle at first, but we grew to view them as penance to reach our sanctuary. The bathroom, tucked into an eave, was comfortable with plenty of hot water. We definitely recommend the second floor apartment as comfortable, historic lodging in an area well suited for daytrips throughout Umbria. We easily ventured from Gubbio in the North, to Todi and Orvietto in the South, as well as nearby Perugia, Spello, and Bevagna. The harvest of the estate grapes at the end of the week was an exciting end to our visit. The guest book in the second floor apartment featured many repeat visitors, and we hope to be among them!

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank navygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2009

reassured by the previous review, I had tried to book the same part of the gardener's cottage: I ended up seeing both bits, neither of which seemed to me to be attractive although there is a quaint roof top view from the top bedroom of the one with two bathrooms. I would not say either apartment was immaculate although one of the two was in the process of being prepared.

The owner insisted the more expensive first floor of the main house would be more suitable - in part because the stairs in the gardener's house were deemed by him not to be suitable for an elderly woman although the external stairs to the first floor apartment were in fact more daunting for her.

He also said it would be cool (i.e. did not need air conditioning) and had adequate bathrooms etc.: the apartment in fact proved to be very hot indeed, it smelt (some of the furniture smelt dirty, the kitchen smelt strongly of gas and there was a smell of chimney fumes by the entrance), the kitchen and bathroom certainly do not belong in any upmarket rental and there was a general air of neglect and under-equipment.

I rent quite a few houses and flats and - to give some feel - this was the first ever to offer no hospitality pack: there were some bars of what purported to be green olive oil soap but it went orange when mixed with the tap water. Both beds were uncomfortable and the smell was not of the cleanest possible bedding. Hygienic preparation of food in the grubby, under-equipped (two teaspoons) and delapidated kitchen is close to impossible and the bathrooms were most unpleasant although the lavatories and wash basins - if not refinements like tiling - had been adequately cleaned.

The apartment was noisy: road traffic and a range of other town and other noises until late at night and from early morning.

The apartment has positive reviews in its guest book but it is not for the squeamish and the buildings are essentially run for the owner's convenience. For example, by far the best maintained part of the apartment was the external shutters...which can be seen from the outside by the owner and others. The reality is of unpleasant delapidation: due to stay for a week, we were out in less than 24 hours.

Frankly, I'd much prefer a good, clean caravan.

Advertised features need to be qualified too: "wireless internet" does not work within the apartment...apparently there is a specific place in the garden to which one must go.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gettingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SperelloFirenze, Owner at Villa Aureli, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2009

Villa Aureli is an historical villa, since it maintains structure, decorations and furniture from the XVIII century. As such the villa is protected by the Italian Ministery of Culture and we cannot modify the structure, the rooms, the doors, the windows, etc. without their permission. For example the kitchen of the first floor apartment keeps an old sink, made of "cotto" tiles. We cannot modify it, but guests do not have to use this sink, since they have a modern dish washer at their disposal.
We provide our guests with free wireless internet connection. However, since the walls of the villa are very thick, the signal does not reach every room in every apartment (it does however reach at least one room in each apartment), we have set up our "internet point" with table and chairs under a tree in the garden, which is much appreciated by our guests.
As a welcome pack we give to our guests 2 bottles of our white wine and 2 bottles of our red wine. These were still in the apartment when the guest "gettingaround" left.
The guest "gettingaround" wrote to me that the welcome of my daughter Laura was "charming". He then left the apartment unexpectedly on the second day without paying the due balance of his rent.
Villa Aureli has had many positive reviews in more than 20 years, since my father started renting the apartments. Some of these can be seen on the official Villa Aureli web site, which I invite you to visit for better pictures than those taken by the guest "gettingaround", and the only authorized ones!
Probably the guest "gettingaround" did not look at our documentation carefully and did not realize that he was renting an apartment in an historical villa, which, although continuously refurbished and looked after, cannot compare with a modern hotel, but has an inimitable atmosphere and charm for those who can understand it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We are a family of 5 and stayed over New Year in Villa Aureli. The Gardener's Cottage was lovely., 3 storeys, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean with comfy beds and extras like perfumed flowers left at the entrance and on the table and a bottle or two of wine from our host's vineyard. Our hosts were most hospitable and an absolute pleasure, the property is amazing and you can stay in rooms with frescoed walls and ceilings and antiques but we decided our kids didn't need it. The village is not as rural as I had imagined but the longer you stay the more you relax into the espresso bars ,little restaurants and surrounds. The village is easy driving , taxi, or bus distance from Perugia, which has very good transport. I would highly recommend it.
P.S. New Year's Eve the whole village let off fireworks ,from apartments, schools , parks, anywhere it was really fun but I didn't really see the "parties"!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MelbourneSeashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews