We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small-town cafe”

Grandpa John's Nauvoo Cafe
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Nauvoo
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Established in 1912, Grandpa John's Nauvoo Cafe offers wonderful breakfast and lunch meals for the entire family. For evening meals (Tuesdays through Saturdays), please visit the Hotel Nauvoo, just across the street.
Golden Valley, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice small-town cafe”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We like to go to Grandpa John's at least once while we are in Nauvoo. They have nice hot food - both a buffet and a grill menu. This last time I had a salad with grilled chicken and I loved the dressing - I wish I could have brought some home!
I think the buffet was smaller than it has been in the past, but I think it might have been because we were there in a very off-season time - between Christmas and New Year's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    42
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very weird restaurant”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I went here because there was only 2 other places in town to eat. They have a lunch buffet but walk you down the line to make sure you don't take anything you didn't pay for and that your portions are what they think are fair. Really awkward experience and can't go back to their "buffet". Prices were decent and the food was cafeteria-tasting but ok.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SpencerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lena
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a wonderful breakfast buffet. Nearly everything you need on the buffet, but if it's not enough you can order french toast, pancakes, eggs to order. Buffet has scrambled eggs, hash brown patties, bacon, sausage, lots of fruit selections, yogurt, and sweet rolls. Delicious food, very nice, and room for a large crowd.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wingsofjoy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Grandpa Johns is really the only restaurant in town that is affordable for families. The nice thing is that they do have a pretty good variety, and the service was quick.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SNBingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
334 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was confusing. They had kind of a buffet. There were different prices, One price you could have full salad bar but no meat. Other price you could have meat and 2 sides from salad bar, oneside was part of the items on the salad bar, and the other side could be side from another part of the salad bar, or from hot food like mashed potatoes, gravy, hot vegetables... Third price was everything, hot veg., meat and all the salad bar items. She had to explain it to everyone that came in??? Food was home made and seems to be pretty good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2babybluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandpa John's Nauvoo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grandpa John's Nauvoo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing