We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad learning experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad learning experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The room had a bad odor. The linens were old , pillows terrible, bathroom did have plenty of hot water, but also cockroaches. Staff's attitude was anything but helpful, not friendly at all.
Should have been alerted when we had to walk in the back door by the garbage bin to our room. The entire hall smelled not only old , but bad.

Room Tip: Always check the room before accepting it, especially if staying at an unknown hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Christine,
I am sorry that you did not like the hotel at all. Just to clarify, we do not have cockroaches. The box elder bugs have been thick here the last week or so. We have exterminators here are a regular basis. We purchase linens and pillows every year, (not to say you didn't have some older ones in your room.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
52
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

went to check didn't have our room was rented to someone else had our dates wrong even after i confirm them in aug. got your room the next night it was very nice and all that we expected and more. we were having a nice night. drinking some local wine from baxters winery. then it happen the people above us overflowed there hot tub water coming out of the ceiling light fixture. great!
they did put us in yet another room. wasn't the weekend we had planed. they did refund all my money gave us $60.00 in chamber dollars and offer a return stay at no charge next year. that was very nice of them to do.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qazmlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orting, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in the Executive Suites across from the main hotel. The kitchen was nice and had most of the items that we needed. The 2 bedrooms were good size and the couch in front was good too. The room was clean and suited our family of 7's needs. We did not eat at the restaurant since we had a kitchen. My kids did enjoy the pool but the night that I was there the hot tub was broken. There was a nice store over at the check in area. You could buy missing toiletries or home decorations.

We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Executive Suites are nice and away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wxwatcher49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites. Nauvoo is such a unique experience and thank you for making us part of your experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

A Family run Hotel that has grown and added additional facilities over the years. Easy Check-in and very comfortable room with two queen beds. Great breakfast buffet and reasonable price.
Room was clean and made up each day and towels refreshed. Room was right across the hall from the indoor swimming pool and yet is was quiet. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites and we look forward to serving you again! We appreciate your business. Thank you for making your family part of ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I usually don't write reviews, but this place way overcharges and way underdelivers from a hospitality perspective. There is one small elevator for the entire large facility -- not at all friendly to disabled people. The parking is wholly inadequate. The beds are too low and have very cheap mattresses. The décor is outdated and stale. All of this is bad to begin with, but the housekeeping is even worse.

My wife accidentally spilled a drink on the sheets so we called for a change of linens. We went out for dinner and when we returned we found the bed had been stripped and linens left behind for us to make our own bed. Any other (and much cheaper) hotel would have changed the linens for us. Not this facility. When I complained to the nighttime front desk person, she told me she had no authority to do anything about it, but there would be someone there in the morning who could. To avoid similar treatment for a terribly high and unjustified price, run, don't walk, to any other facility in Nauvoo!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandertwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Imagine my surprise reading this review from you after the nice telephone conversation we had yesterday. We discussed the issues that you had. Housekeeping is not in the building at night, however, as I said in our telephone conversation the front desk staff should've made your bed for you. There is no excuse for that. You are correct, in July, the parking lot is very full, however we do have 2 parking lots and a lot across from the hotel that we use for overflow of parking. To say one elevator is not enough for 2 and a half stories is a slight over statement. Front desk attendants do have the authority to do what it takes to make our guests happy, to say that they don't have authority is untrue. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. When I asked you how we could make this right, you and I came to an agreement, and I have followed through with that. I hope that you will give us another try, as stated in our phone conversation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farr West
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our family of 9 stayed here in one of the family suites. We had 3 bedrooms and a sleeper in the main room. It was very comfortable for us. We didn't do much cooking, more just warming things up, but the kitchen was nice, and everything worked. Our beds were comfortable, and the rooms were clean. The staff were friendly, our grandchildren enjoyed the swimming pool. We didn't eat here, but our daughter had stayed here a year ago with her Single Adult ward, and they did eat there. She thought the food was good. I did our laundry here, and was pleased that there were machines just down the hall from our room. If we ever make it to Nauvoo again, I would look at staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am pleased that you had a good time at our hotel and that you chose to stay with us on your recent trip to Nauvoo. Thank you for making your family part of ours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a good place to stay for our family trip to Nauvoo. We didn't spend a lot of time at the place, but when we were there, the pool was enjoyable for my wife and kids and we all slept comfortably. Not a lot of room in the bathroom to put things, but we were travelling and were used to living out of our luggage. Altogether nice place and service was alright. We were there in early June, 2013, which is apparently right before busy season. We didn't try it, but we heard from a number of people in town that their buffett was really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you fro taking the time to post on trip advisor. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nauvoo
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
83 reviews
5.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
8.7 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#5 of 6 in Keokuk
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
9.1 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
259 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites

Property: Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites
Address: 1875 Mulholland St, PO Box 187, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1144
Location: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nauvoo is a small, historic, beautiful town located on the banks of the Mississippi River. Step back in time by visiting the free historic sites. See what life was like in Nauvoo in the 1800's. While you are in Nauvoo, enjoy one of our apartment size family units with a full kitchen or a lovely jacuzzi suite. Relax in our indoor heated pool after your day of adventure. We're located just 7 blocks from the beautiful Nauvoo Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nauvoo Family Hotel Nauvoo
Nauvoo Family Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing