We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, basic place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, basic place to stay.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was a good place to stay for our family trip to Nauvoo. We didn't spend a lot of time at the place, but when we were there, the pool was enjoyable for my wife and kids and we all slept comfortably. Not a lot of room in the bathroom to put things, but we were travelling and were used to living out of our luggage. Altogether nice place and service was alright. We were there in early June, 2013, which is apparently right before busy season. We didn't try it, but we heard from a number of people in town that their buffett was really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your business and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you fro taking the time to post on trip advisor. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    21
    9
    12
See reviews for
52
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herriman
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom suite the first week of June 2013. We didn't have the same experience as a previous reviewer who had horrible customer service. All of the workers we came in contact with were friendly and would ask if they could help us in anyway. We felt well taken care of. The word "suite" kind of brings to mind something large and nice. This "suite" was not very big, and was a little older with older appliances and furniture. They had 2 bathrooms which were clean, but my family prefers a bath, so the fact that they only had showers was a little disappointing. Everything is clean, however, and the appliances did all work. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Becky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy that you had a nice time during your stay and that our staff took good care of you. I agree with you on the suites. They were built to sleep as many people as possible. Thanks for being part of our family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Where do I begin. Frankly, I don't understand how these people stay in business. They never smile, they don't seem to like people and they have no sense of urgency. I had to call and leave messages every day for a week before the manager called me back. I am still waiting for a receipt!! Apparently only a manager can issue a receipt which doesn't make sense to me.

Any problem I had was a huge ordeal and let me tell you there were many. I didn't have hot water the first 5 days. Then the power kept going out and they kept claiming it was because I was turning on everything at once which was the absolute furthest thing from what I was doing. I am very conscientious about saving electricity. Then they charged my credit card 3 times which they did apologize for but it was another ordeal I had to go through. Next, there was the problem of ants which kept getting worse. They finally did spray for it after I kept having to call about it for 4 or 5 days.

Never did they offer a discount or some kind of compensation for the multitude of problems I endured. They always seemed annoyed and often would turn the problem around on me and claim it was my doing! I don't think hot water, electricity or lack of ants is asking for anything extravagant. I don't usually write reviews but I had to inform people of the utter unprofessionalism of this place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
You had an attitude before you even came to Nauvoo, via telephone conversations. When you first arrived you complained of no hot water. The maintenance manager made adjustments on the hot water heater the first day. The second day still no hot water. You were offered to switch rooms, which you refused. The second day a part was switched out from another heater, and a new part was ordered. Once that new part was received it was put in to the heater in your room. In the meantime, since you refused to move rooms we gave you a key to a room next door, so that you could have hot water. The breakers in your room started blowing out apparently for no reason, again you were offered to switch rooms, again you refused. An electrician was hired and even he could not find why you were blowing breakers, but after he was in your room, your problems stopped. The credit card issue was our fault of having newly hired staff which we corrected and apologized for. You did get a receipt, when you paid and I personally emailed you one for all 3 months after you left and requested it. I still have verification of you receiving this. You were rude and hateful to my staff while you were here and they tolerated you. As far as a discount, the room you were in on a nightly rental would've cost you 5 times more than what we charged you for a monthly rental, so to say that you did not receive a discount is an outrageous untruth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in Nauvoo Family Inn the week following Memorial Day, and the grandkids loved the pool and hot tub when we took breaks from seeing the Nauvoo sites. It was fun being able to stay together in a 3 bedroom suite, although it was very small with not enough places for everyone to sit (4 bar stools and 1 couch). There was a nice Summer Kitchen Restaurant down the end of our hall, but we had planned to prepare our own meals (shopped in Keokuk, Iowa). Thanks for a great time, Nauvoo Family Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BYUFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites! We love hearing from our guests! I'm so happy that you had a good time with your family! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We found this place ok. Not a nice place but average. Small old tv. The room is larger then most. I slept well. The beds are very low I am not sure why, just noticed. Clean rooms. Lots of Mormon items for sale in lobby.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Clayton Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting Nauvoo. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have stayed here twice with youth groups visiting Nauvoo. The pricing of the large rooms is great for our budget. We have stayed in the main hotel lodge, across the street at the Manor House and in the Executive Suites across the street. The 8 person room in the main lodge was well equipped with comfortable beds. The kitchen was clean and useful as we cooked a lot of meals for our groups. The Manor House is like a big dorm room set up with 2 double-bed kitchen suites flanked by 8 person bunk rooms. Price on the bunk rooms comes to about $10 per person a night which is pretty hard to beat. The rooms are modern, clean and the A/C works great. The Manor House is fairly new and looks like it was upgraded between 2008 and 2012. The executive suites were brand new with 2 separate bedrooms (1 king and 1 with 2 doubles). More expensive than the suite rooms but more privacy for the guests. The kitchens in the executive suites are bigger and make a great place from which to stage meal preparation for large groups. On both occasions in 2008 and 2012 we rented the Events center next to the Main lodge north of Mulholland to use for feeding the youth groups. That is the only way I could imagine you could handle feeding a large group unless you had them eat in the hall of the Manor House which would not be good. It would be great if the Events center could be modified to have a kitchen so that the cooked food would not have to be carried across the street from the Manor House suites or the executive suites. The kids enjoyed the pool on both occasions. In 2008 we purchased a meal for the group at the buffet at the restaurant. Overpriced for what we got. Food was not that great. Reminded me of a cheap knock off of Chuck-a-Rama from the 70's. It is much cheaper and better to prepare your own food and feed at the Event Center.

I will say that without this lodge, I do not know how large youth groups would be able to visit Nauvoo in the middle of summer in any kind of comfort. I appreciate this ability to house our youth in comfort and security at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BYUDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicky1875, General Manager at Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us. We love to be able to provide what youth groups need in housing, meals, etc. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were stuck in the annex section of their fine establishment. The carpet and bedding were filthy, and we didn't dare walk around without shoes on in the room. The bathroom looked like a demilitarized zone, with peeling linolium and dirt in the corners. The tub was totall yellow and gross. This place made the Super 8 in the ghettos of Chicago look like a 5 Star resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nauvoo
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Fort Madison
83 reviews
9.1 mi away
Super 8 Keokuk
Super 8 Keokuk
#2 of 6 in Keokuk
248 reviews
9.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Keokuk North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Boulders Inn & Suites Fort Madison
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Keokuk
Hampton Inn Keokuk
#1 of 6 in Keokuk
305 reviews
22.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Burlington
Howard Johnson Burlington
#8 of 11 in Burlington
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites

Property: Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites
Address: 1875 Mulholland St, PO Box 187, Nauvoo, IL 62354-1144
Location: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Nauvoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nauvoo is a small, historic, beautiful town located on the banks of the Mississippi River. Step back in time by visiting the free historic sites. See what life was like in Nauvoo in the 1800's. While you are in Nauvoo, enjoy one of our apartment size family units with a full kitchen or a lovely jacuzzi suite. Relax in our indoor heated pool after your day of adventure. We're located just 7 blocks from the beautiful Nauvoo Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nauvoo Family Hotel Nauvoo
Nauvoo Family Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing