We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent, but rather boring.”
Review of Historic Nauvoo

Historic Nauvoo
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Nauvoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tribute to Mormon industry and vision. Glimpse of 1840's life in Illinois' 2nd largest city. Beautiful location on banks of the Mississippi. Restored homes and shops. Horse-drawn wagon rides. Pioneer craft demonstrations. Live entertainment. Free to the public. Open 365 days a year.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasent, but rather boring.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Visited Nauvoo for a day trip and was hoping to learn more about the area. I enjoyed the little shops and learning somewhat about the history. The only history lessons I learned was LDS related. I was hoping to learn more about what it was like living there during that time period.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    38
    14
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An interesting time”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We enjoyed visiting the historic sites and learning more about the pioneer history of the area. The people at the sites were well informed and friendly. Everything was in easy walking or driving distance. We enjoyed the blacksmith shop with our souvenir horseshoe and prairie diamond, the Scovil bakery had great gingerbread cookies, and we found a lot of new information about our ancestors at the Land and Records office. This is a place I would love to go back to and spend more time than the one day we were able to spend there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nontravelerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A few wonderful days with the family”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We took spring break to go on a church history trip to Nauvoo, and the kids loved it. We started each day by going to the LDS visitors center and picking up tickets for the horse drawn rides. One takes visitors through the old part of town and shows the day to day stuff. The other ride goes out into the rural area and shows more of the spiritual stuff. Both wonderful. There is also a ox wagon that was fun for the kids
. We visited each house and shop. The kids favorites were the blacksmith and the gunshop. we also enjoyed going to the land and records office and finding info on our ancestors!
We had a great time learning about their way of life, about the events that occurred to force the saints to leave and we had many spiritual testimony building experiences.
The kids chose this over Disneyland, and although their are no thrill ride, it was a wonderful life changing experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Drsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great reason to visit Nauvoo”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This part of town is like stepping back in time. Everything is done so well - from the building restorations to the hands on presentations to the tour guides in typical dress. I highly recommend visiting as many of the sites as possible. The family living center and the Browning Gunsmith shop were my favorites. You walk away appreciating what life was like for the Saints of the 1840s.

Helpful?
3 Thank TX_travelling_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Love the Spirit of Old Nauvoo. Jonathan Browning's Gunshop is very cool. The Nauvoo Temple is Beautiful. Brigham Young's home is amazing. The working forge is very cool. The Visitors Center has a wonderful film and historical items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Nauvoo also viewed

 

Been to Historic Nauvoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing