We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun for the family”

Nauvoo Log Cabins LLC
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nauvoo Log Cabins LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed three days in the Danielson cabin with a family of six. Was tight at times but very doable and gave us the experience of what it might have felt like for some of these large families. The cabins were well kept, clean and the beds were suprisingly comfortable. The museum in the nearby cabin is definately worth the 10 minutes it takes to browse it. Can't believe how many items they have to see. It is an unbelievable collection. The cabins were located just outside of Nauvoo and were only a five minute drive from historic Nauvoo and the visitors center. Would highly recommend these cabins if you are staying in the area and want an experience different than your local hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrotherBoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 43 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed in 3 cabins (Ferin & Danielson & Sanders) on a family holiday trip in April 2012. We found the cabins well appointed, comfortable and delightful. they are located on the edge of town, about 1min drive from the centre. Quiet and peaceful location. They helped us get into the mood of visiting old Nauvoo in old historic cabins. Yet inside they were modern and well equipped. They are not huge, but no smaller than hotel accommodation.
Sanders: We had a family of 5 in no problem. Seperate bedroom for the parents with a double bed and sofa bed in the main room. Seperate kitchen and bathroom. We loved sitting out ion the porch on the swing-seat.
Ferrin: Had my parents in it. It has a lovely double bed and sperate bathroom.
Danielson: This cabin I think accomodates 5, with a bunkbed at each end of the cabin and the bathroom in the middle. We had a couple in there so they had lots of space.
Kitchens had everything we needed, linen was modern and clean and TV & free internet worked in all cabins.

Room Tip: Be prepared as unable to pay for rooms using credit cards. As we were from outside the USA we had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed in the Nixon cabin and loved it. It is fully furnished and has a full kitchen and two full baths. The whole upstairs is one big room full of beds which our kids enjoyed. It was a great experience to know that we were staying in actual pioneer cabins. There is also a free museum on site which we really enjoyed! Another bonus, it was less than a mile from all the temple.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shake458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The downside was that the cabins are just off a main road, lined up, no trees, etc. Looks like a trailer park with cabins. Positive was that the cabin history is written and framed on walls, the beds are comfortable and the cabin we stayed in was well furnished. There is a free small Joseph Smith museum on site, and the fact it is family run and owned is obvious, which is a plus. Lots on honor system, and the caregivers obviously care about the mission to educate as well as to house. The in-wall air conditioner was loud, but it's obviously an add-on. The decorations were well done.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoJoGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed in the Van Vleet cabin and it was just beautiful! The furnishings were so detail perfect and cosy. It was modern, clean, and the heating worked well too (which we needed!)
Very close to all the local attractions (by car), friendly staff, handy laundry room and we completely loved the novelty and quirkiness! The cabin made our trip to Nauvoo even more perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hulahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Although Nauvoo Log Cabins started about 10 years ago, I only noticed it a couple years ago, and only tried it out a few days ago. Wow, have I missed out! We stayed in the big cabin--the Lodge--and it was big and very beautiful inside. We needed the Lodge because we had a sizable group, and we wanted something special for a family gathering. My children enjoyed it tremendously. They have a variety of cabins, however, from small (2 person) on up to large (13 people), and every thing in between. Each cabin has a history to go with it. It was clean, it has a/c, wi-fi, the owners are nice, and I know where I will be staying next time I come to Nauvoo!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

stayed Oct. 13 - 15, 2009. The smallest cabin was not available so we stayed in the lodge king room with a private entrance for the same price of $49. The room was a little tight, the bed a little hard, but certainly adequate. It had a microwave and refrigerator in the closet. We extended our 2- night stay and extra night with no problem. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We saw the other cabins and they were all very nice, each was different, decorated with period furniture as was our room. The cabins had kitchens. Five minutes from temple and other sites. This is different from a regular hotel. A fun place to stay. Would stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank texasj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nauvoo hotels
2.1 mi away
Nauvoo Villas The Condos
0.5 mi away
The Nauvoo Grand Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Nauvoo Family Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauvoo Log Cabins LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauvoo Log Cabins LLC

Address: 65 N Winchester Street, Nauvoo, IL 62354
Location: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Nauvoo
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
~ Historical Lodging ~ Authentic pioneer log cabins located in Nauvoo, IL for a truly one of a kind experience that the whole family will love! Each unique cabin has all of the original charm along with the added comforts of home. Come make memories with us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing