We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
35
9
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenthe main lodgebeds were comfortablefamily reunionin townbebefridgeporchdryerinternet
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 46 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The downside was that the cabins are just off a main road, lined up, no trees, etc. Looks like a trailer park with cabins. Positive was that the cabin history is written and framed on walls, the beds are comfortable and the cabin we stayed in was well furnished. There is a free small Joseph Smith museum on site, and the fact it is family run and owned is obvious, which is a plus. Lots on honor system, and the caregivers obviously care about the mission to educate as well as to house. The in-wall air conditioner was loud, but it's obviously an add-on. The decorations were well done.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoJoGlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed in the Van Vleet cabin and it was just beautiful! The furnishings were so detail perfect and cosy. It was modern, clean, and the heating worked well too (which we needed!)
Very close to all the local attractions (by car), friendly staff, handy laundry room and we completely loved the novelty and quirkiness! The cabin made our trip to Nauvoo even more perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hulahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Although Nauvoo Log Cabins started about 10 years ago, I only noticed it a couple years ago, and only tried it out a few days ago. Wow, have I missed out! We stayed in the big cabin--the Lodge--and it was big and very beautiful inside. We needed the Lodge because we had a sizable group, and we wanted something special for a family gathering. My children enjoyed it tremendously. They have a variety of cabins, however, from small (2 person) on up to large (13 people), and every thing in between. Each cabin has a history to go with it. It was clean, it has a/c, wi-fi, the owners are nice, and I know where I will be staying next time I come to Nauvoo!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

stayed Oct. 13 - 15, 2009. The smallest cabin was not available so we stayed in the lodge king room with a private entrance for the same price of $49. The room was a little tight, the bed a little hard, but certainly adequate. It had a microwave and refrigerator in the closet. We extended our 2- night stay and extra night with no problem. The owner was very friendly and helpful. We saw the other cabins and they were all very nice, each was different, decorated with period furniture as was our room. The cabins had kitchens. Five minutes from temple and other sites. This is different from a regular hotel. A fun place to stay. Would stay again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank texasj10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

The Nauvoo Log Cabins was an excellent place to stay. As we booked our stay, the staff was very friendly and very willing to accommodate our changes in schedule.

Some of the furnishings seem to fit the Nauvoo period. Has period key and keyholes. Very clean. There is on site coin laundry, a dishwasher, stove, oven and fridge. There are two bathrooms--one with a shower and one with a period bath tub that was extremely comfortable and relaxing. Has air conditioning.

I especially recommend the Nauvoo Log Cabins for an extended stay in Nauvoo. It makes a great home base. We stayed in the Nixon cabin for three nights with nine people. It fit us quite comfortably.

We went to Nauvoo for the history. Though the Stephen Nixon cabin was not originally built in Nauvoo, the focus of the owners is clearly on the history of the people that lived there and built it. As a descendant of Stephen Nixon, the original builder and owner of the cabin, I was pleased with the restoration and improvements on the cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank halloween_library
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews